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CUSTOMER SERVICE GUIDE

Licensing
Requirements to drive

To drive legally in Wyoming, you must have a valid
driver license, instruction permit, intermediate license
or restricted license. Wyoming licenses are issued by the
Driver Services Program of the Wyoming Department
of Transportation (WYDOT).

Those who do not need
a Wyoming driver license are:

® Employees of the United States government operating
vehicles owned or leased by the U.S. government;

® Members of the Armed Forces stationed in Wyo-
ming, and their dependents, who have a valid license
issued by their state of residence;

® Full-time students attending the University of Wyo-
ming or a Wyoming junior college and who have a
valid license from another state; and

® Any person licensed by another state which is a
Driver License Compact member (see page 28), un-
less the person chooses to have a Wyoming driver
license. Such an out-of-state license must be sur-
rendered within one year of residency in Wyoming.

Who cannot get a Wyoming
driver license

Certain individuals may not get a Wyoming license.

They include:

® Persons under 16 years of age;

® Persons whose driving privileges are suspended, can-
celed, denied or revoked in this or any other state (All
applicants are checked through the Problem Driver
Pointer System and other electronic systems to make
sure there are no adverse actions against them);

® Persons who fail any portion of a required driver
license examination;

® Persons who have been judged legally incompetent;

® Persons who are habitual users of alcohol or any
controlled substance;

® Persons who are in violation of the immigration laws
of the United States.
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Your Wyoming license

Non-commercial license classes
Class C

The Class C license authorizes operation of a single vehi-
cle or combination of vehicles, except motorcycles, with
a GVWR less than 26,001 pounds or any such vehicle
towing another which does not have a GVWR in excess
of 10,000 pounds. In addition, the Class C CDL license
allows the operation of vehicles designed to transport
16 or more passengers, including the driver, or which
is placarded for transportation of hazardous materials.

Class M

The class “M” license is issued solely for the opera-
tion of motorcycles, but the Class “A,” “B,” or “C”
licenses may include the “M” classification.
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Restriction codes

Restriction codes mean that license holders may only
operate a vehicle in certain circumstances or if special
provisions are met. The codes are:

A - Automatic transmission

B - Corrective lenses

C - Mechanical aid

D - Prosthetic aid

E - No manual transmission; CDL only
G - Daylight driving only

I - Limited others

J - Valid without photo or signature

K - Intrastate driving only; CDL only

L - Vehicle without air brakes; CDL only
M - Class B bus; CDL only

N - Class C bus; CDL only

O - CDL only

P - No passengers; CDL only

R - 4-wheel recreational vehicle only

V — Must have variance letter or SPE certificate in
possession; CDL only

X - No cargo in tank; CDL only
Z - No full air brake; CDL only

Getting your license
To obtain a Wyoming driver license, a person must be
of sufficient age, provide legal proof of identification and
Wyoming residency and then pass a written knowledge
test, a vision screening and a driving skills test. Ap-
plicants under 18 years of age must also have a release
signed by a legal parent or guardian.



Age requirements
For full driving privileges, an applicant must be at least
17 or be 16-1/2 and have completed a qualifying driver
education course and held an intermediate license. At
16 an applicant may obtain limited driving privileges
by acquiring an intermediate license. An instruction
permit may be obtained at 15.

Acceptable legal identification
First-time applicants for a driver license or identification
card must provide a state-certified birth certificate, a
valid U.S. passport or immigration documents. If the last
name has changed from the verification document, then
proof of name change is required, such as a marriage
certificate, divorce decree or court order. Applicants
also must be able to verify their Social Security num-
ber by presenting a Social Security card, W-2 form or
financial/banking statement that includes their Social
Security number.

When licensees change their addresses, they must
notify the department in writing within 10 days of
the change. Forms for address changes are available
at all exam locations and on the WYDOT website at
http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/driver_license_records/
formsapplications/general-forms.html.

Acceptable Proof of Residency
Any two of the following are acceptable documents
that must be provided as proof that you are a Wyoming
resident, and they must show a residential address, not
a P.O. Box:

® Vehicle title and/or registration;

® Property tax and/or mortgage documents;

® Rental, lease or other documents showing
residence in the state;

® Federal tax documents with a Wyoming address;

® Bank statements from a Wyoming bank or credit
union; or

® Any other legal documents showing a Wyoming
address.



Required tests

Vision screening

A person must have 20/40 acuity with both eyes, either
with or without glasses, and a combined horizontal field
vision of at least 120 degrees to meet Wyoming vision
standards for operating a motor vehicle. Those who fail
the vision screening must obtain a vision statement from
an eye specialist. If contact lenses or glasses are used to
pass the screening, they will be required while driving.
If your visual acuity is worse than 20/40 but at least
20/100, you will be required to take a riding skills test.

Written test - Automated
Testing System

A written test covering the rules of the road and safe rid-
ing practices may be required. Questions are taken from
the information in this manual. The test includes: (1)
identification of traffic signs by shape, color or symbol;
(2) identification of signals and pavement markings; and
(3) correct answers to multiple choice questions about
traffic laws, safety rules, crash prevention and vehicle
equipment. Applicants for a motorcycle license are al-
lowed to take the written test twice in one day. All tests
are given in English only, so if a person cannot speak or
write the English language, an interpreter may be used.
Oral tests are available, but the applicant must request
one prior to taking the test.

Wyoming Driver License Practice Tests are available at
https://gowyld.driving-tests.org/wyoming/.

Skills test

First-time applicants, who have never been licensed in
this or any other state, are required to pass a skills test
consisting of safe riding maneuvers. Applicants are not
asked to do anything against the law. Others situations
may require a driver to pass a riding test to demonstrate
their riding ability. Applicants who fail are required to
wait 24 hours before testing again. Applicants who miss
13 or more questions must wait three days to be retested.

The on-cycle skills test may be waived for those who
present proof, in the form of a certification card, that
they have completed an approved Motorcycle Safety
Course. The certification card will be honored for no
longer than two years.
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On-cycle skill test

Basic vehicle control and crash-avoidance skills are
included in on-cycle tests to determine your ability to
handle normal and hazardous traffic situations. You
may be tested for your ability to:

Know your motorcycle and your riding limits;
Accelerate, brake and turn safely;

See, be seen and communicate with others;

Adjust speed and position to the traffic situation;
Stop, turn and swerve quickly; and

Make critical decisions and carry them out.

Examiners may score on factors related to safety

such as:

® Sclecting safe speeds to perform maneuvers;

® Choosing the correct path and staying within bound-
aries;

® Completing normal and quick stops; and

® Completing normal and quick turns or swerves.

The on-cycle skill test will be conducted in a controlled,
off street area.



License services
First Wyoming licenses

Applicants must pass all parts of the examination, in-
cluding a written knowledge test, vision screening and
on-cycle skills test. The skills test may be waived if a valid
out-of-state license or a certificate from an approved
motorcycle safety course is presented. Applicants un-
der 18, must have a minor’s release signed by a legal
parent or guardian.

Instruction permits
Applicants should be prepared to pass a written knowl-
edge test and vision screening. An instruction permit
may be issued for the purpose of learning to operate a
motorcycle or a four-wheel ATV. However a passenger
cannot accompany the learner on these vehicles. If the
applicant is applying for a 90-day permit, the riding
skills test is not given. The motorcycle license fee will
be charged.

Renewals

Renewals are issued to all persons who hold a valid Wyo-
ming license. Licensees over 21 may renew within the
120-day period preceding expiration. Licensees under
21 may renew within 90 days of expiration. If licensee
is under 21 and wants an "adult"-type license, they can
only renew within 30 days of their 21st birthday. Ap-
plicants must pass a vision screening. A skills test may
be required at the discretion of the examiner.

Renewals by mail

Drivers may renew their current Wyoming license by
mail once every other renewal period. Renewal appli-
cations are mailed to the current address on record for
those whose licenses have not been canceled, revoked
within the previous five years, or who have not renewed
or disqualified by mail within the previous five years.
Applications are mailed 120 days prior to expiration
to persons over 21 and 90 days prior to expiration to
persons under 21.

Renewals of expired licenses

Persons who let their license expire must apply in person
for a new license and may be required to take all phases
of the examination, including the written test, vision
screening and skills test.



Driver license fees

Non-commercial licenses
Original Wyoming License
Restricted License
Renewal
Renewal of License by Mail
Instruction Permit
Restricted Instruction Permit
Intermediate License

Commercial licenses
Original Wyoming License
Renewal
Class Change
Commercial Learners Permit

Other fees
Motorcycle license
Identification Card
CDL Skills Test (by appointment only)
Individual Driving Records
Record Review
Contested Hearing
Non CDL Probationary License
Reinstatement Fee
Emancipated Minor Indication
Child support suspension reinstatement

NOTE: An additional technology fee of $5
will be imposed on all classes of driver
licenses and CDL Skills tests. All fees are
subject to change.

$40
$20
$30
$30
$40
$20
$30

$50
$40
$40
$40

$6
$10
$80
$5
$15
$25
$50
$50
$2
$5
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Full driving privileges
At age 17

At 17, an applicant may be issued a Wyoming driver’s

license with full driving privileges without having been

issued an intermediate license or any other type of

license or permit. However, the applicant may not be is-

sued alicense if any current, restricted driving privileges

have been suspended. An applicant must:

® Present proof of identity;

® Pass the vision screening, a written test and a driving
skills test;

® Have a parent or legal guardian sign the Minor’s
Release Form and pay the required fee.

At 16 and one-half

At 16 and one-half years of age, applicants may also

be issued full driving privileges if they have a current

intermediate license that is at least six months old, their

current, restricted driving privileges have not been

suspended, and if they have completed a driver educa-

tion course approved by the Wyoming Department of

Education. This applicant must:

® Present a signed certificate of completion from an
approved driver education course which includes
behind-the-wheel driving;

® Present proof of identity;

Pass a vision screening;

® Have a parent or legal guardian sign the Minor’s
Release Form and pay the required fee.

Age restricted licenses

For extreme inconvenience

A restricted license may be issued to applicants, 14-15,
when an extreme inconvenience exists in their house-
hold. The applicant must have held an instruction
permit and must live five or more miles from school
and/or employment. The Wyoming Highway Patrol
approves applications for restricted licenses.

The license is only valid between the hours of 5 a.m. and
8 p.m. and within 50 miles of the licensee's residence.
The license will be suspended if the licensee is convicted
of one moving traffic violation or of driving outside
the designated hours or the 50-mile radius limitation.
A restricted license expires 30 days after the holder's
16th birthday.
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A restricted instruction permit is available for appli-
cants, ages 14-15 years, who have been approved for a
restricted license but do not currently hold an instruc-
tion permit. The permit is valid for 60 days.

Intermediate licenses
A license may also be issued to applicants at age 16 when
they acquire an intermediate license.

At 16 an applicant may be issued an intermediate license

if he or she:

® Has held a Restricted Class C (RC) license, or

® Held an Instruction Permit and has completed
50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, including
10 hours of nighttime driving, as certified by a parent
or legal guardian.

The Intermediate license applicant must also:

® Present proof of identity;

® Pass a vision screening and a driving skills test (The
driving skills test may be waived if the applicant has
completed an approved driver education course);

® Have a minor’s release signed by a parent or legal
guardian; and pay the required fee.

Holders of Intermediate licenses:

® May not transport more than one passenger under
the age of 18 who is not an immediate family mem-
ber unless also accompanied by a licensed driver
18 years of age or older (Intermediate motorcycle
permit holders may not carry any passengers while
driving their motorcycles);

® Must ensure that all occupants of the vehicle are
wearing seat belts; and

® May not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless
the holder meets an exception criteria and presents
a completed exception form.

An exception form allows driving between

11 p.m. and 5 a.m., if the driver is:

® Required to drive for a medical necessity, that is
certified by medical personnel; or

® Required to drive to or from work, as certified by an
employer; or

® Required to drive to or from school, a school activity,
organized youth sports activity or a religious activity,
as certified by parent or legal guardian; or
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® Required to drive for a medical emergency, as evi-
denced by medical personnel.

The appropriate individual (as determined by the excep-
tion) must complete and sign the exception form, and
it must be carried by the licensee and presented to law
enforcement if the holder is stopped.

Intermediate license suspension
An intermediate license will be suspended for 30 days
for any violation of these provisions.

Intermediate license expiration
An intermediate license automatically expires 30 days
after the holder’s 17th birthday.

Motorcycle permits

Youths at least 15 may be issued restricted-use instruc-
tion permits, upon successfully passing a written exam
and a vision test, to ride a motorcycle for a period of
90 days. If such applicants also pass a riding test, they
qualify for an instruction permit that allows them to
operate a motorcycle for one year. A permit holder may
not operate a motorcycle with a passenger.

Holders of one of these instruction permits who are at
least 16 and have also completed practice driving of at
least 50 actual driving hours, including at least 10 hours
of night driving, also qualify for an intermediate permit
that entitles them to drive a specified type or class of
motor vehicle. However this permit will not be issued
unless a parent or guardian certifies the applicant has
completed these practice-driving requirements.

At no time may a holder of an intermediate motorcycle
permit operate the motorcycle with any passenger.
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Licenses for disabled drivers
WYDOT understands that most people place great value
in being able to drive and that, without the widespread
availability of public transportation in
Wyoming, it is even more important
for persons with disabilities to have
driving privileges whenever possible.

Therefore Driver Services wishes to

facilitate the licensing process for
disabled people while making sure
that the applicant is able to drive safely before actually
issuing a license. It may be necessary to have a medical
and/or vision statement completed by a physician before
a license is issued.

Many applicants need or use special equipment to
drive safely. It is WYDOT'’s responsibility to license an
applicant with any restrictions recommended by their
physician, optometrist or ophthalmologist and as a
result of a skills test, when deemed necessary to safely
operate a motor vehicle.

Additional driver/
motoring services

Wyoming Amber Alert System

In 2003, Wyoming Law Enforcement, the Association of

Broadcasters, the National Weather Service (NWS), the

Cable TV Association and the Department of Transpor-

tation (DOT) coordinated the Amber Alert Plan. The

Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) is

the designated liaison between the local law enforcement

agency and the NWS, broadcasters and DOT. All of the

following criteria must be met prior to DCI activating

an Amber Alert:

® A child has been abducted.

® The child must be 17 years of age or younger.

® The child must be in immediate danger of serious
bodily harm or death.

® There must be enough descriptive information to
believe a broadcast will assist or help in the recovery.
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The Wyoming Amber Alert Plan is designed to broad-
cast critical information about an abducted child
believed to be in danger, using the Emergency Alert
System, via radio and television. Ifan Amber Alert is ac-
tivated, please do be aware of the information provided.

ACCESSlng your derlng record
WYDOT maintains a computerized driving record of
every driver in the state. It contains a record of all con-
victions, motor vehicle convictions, and adverse actions
as a result of these convictions.

You may obtain a copy of your driver record at any of the
local exam stations upon presenting your driver license
or other legal forms of identification and payment of the
fee. A legal parent or guardian can obtain a copy of a
child’s driver record, if the child is a minor under the age
of 18 years. It is possible to obtain another’s driver record
provided a written release is presented to the examiner
from the person whose driver record is being released.

A person can also obtain a copy of their driver record by
submitting a written request along with the required fee
to the department. The fee for the driving record may
be paid by credit card; however, this must be stipulated
in the written request with a phone number to contact
the person requesting the record.

The Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act prohibits
WYDOT from providing personal information to in-
dividuals and businesses for the purposes of surveys,
marketing and solicitations. Personal information
includes photographs and digital images, signatures,
telephone numbers and medical/disability information.
It does not prohibit the release of records pertaining to
vehicular crashes, driving violations and driver license
or registration status.

Wyoming Organ

and Tissue Donor Registry
Applications for a Wyoming driver's license or identi-
fication card ask whether or not you wish to register to
be an organ donor. The Department of Transportation
is authorized to electronically transfer donor status to
the Donor Registry. A parent's or guardian's signature is
required to approve an anatomical gift for minors under
eighteen (18) years of age.
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If you wish to be a donor, a donor designation is
indicated on your driver's license or identification
card. You can directly register or remove your name
from the Donor Registry by accessing the Web site at
www. WyomingDonorRegistry.org.

Organ donation is a deeply personal decision only you
and your family can make. You'll feel good knowing that
you could leave the one thing money cannot buy - life.

Disabled placards
Permanent disabled placards are issued to persons who
suffer from physical impairments. The impairment must
last a minimum of 12 months. Temporary placards
may be issued to persons who suffer an impairment
for up to 6 months.

Applications are available at all driver license exam sta-
tions and on the website at http://www.dot.state.wy.us/
driverservices, then navigate to the forms page. The ap-
plication must be completed by a physician. To obtain
disabled plates, you must complete an application for a
placard and indicate on the form that you want license
plates. You may be issued one placard and one or more
sets of plates, or two placards and no license plates.

Disabled placards are available at no cost to the ap-
plicant.

Medical Alert

Applications for a Wyoming driver's license or identi-
fication card ask whether or not you wish to specify a
medical condition to first responder or law enforcement
officer in the event you are unable to communicate it
yourself.

If you with to specify a medical condition, a medical
alert designation is indicated on your driver's license
or identification card. The designation information
can be removed or changed in the system anytime by
contacting Driver Services.
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Wildlife Conservation
Applications for a Wyoming driver's license or identi-
fication card ask whether or not you wish to donate to
Wildlife Conservation. If you choose to donate, you will
indicated the amount you are donating on the applica-
tion and the examiner will collect this amount along
with any other fees.

Funds in the wildlife conservation account shall only be
used to provide for wildlife conservation efforts related
to the transportation system, including signage, wildlife
corridors, wildlife crossings and game fences.

Losing the privilege
to drive

License suspensions,
cancellations and revocations

Driving in Wyoming, as in all states, is a privilege, not a
right. Abuse the privilege, and you may lose it.

Drinking and driving suspensions

Administrative Per Se Suspension

An Administrative Per Se Suspension and a Disquali-
fication of Commercial Driving Privileges results when
you have been arrested for DWUI and the results of
your chemical test show an alcohol concentration of
0.08 percent or greater. Dismissal of the DWUI in court
will not affect the Administrative Per Se suspension.

Length of suspension: 90 days. (If you are convicted of
the DWUI in court, the time served for the Administra-
tive Per Se suspension will be credited toward the DWUI
suspension.)

Length of disqualification: One year if this is a first
major offense and lifetime if this is a second or subse-
quent major offense.

Start of suspension/disqualification: 30 days after the
issuance of the temporary driver’s license and notice of
suspension given by the officer at the time of the arrest,
or at the end of any existing suspension or revocation.
The procedure to apply for limited driving privileges
or a contested case hearing is explained on the form
issued by the officer.
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Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? You may
be eligible, if you have not been issued a probationary
driver license in the past five years and are otherwise
eligible. NOTE: You cannot have an ignition interlock
requirement.

Reinstatement requirements:
® Completion of all suspension actions on record; and
® Payment of reinstatement fee.

Driving While Under the Influence

A DWUTI results when you have been convicted in court
of Driving While Under the Influence. (In addition to
an Administrative Per Se/Refusal, you may be convicted
of DWUI or receive a deferred prosecution under W.S.
7-13-301.)

1st offense (within previous 10 years)

Length of suspension: 90 days. (If you served or are serv-
ing a suspension for Administrative Per Se, the suspension
period will be the same.)

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? You may
be eligible, if you have not been issued a probationary
driver license in the past five years, are otherwise eligible
and do not have an ignition interlock requirement.

Ignition Interlock Requirement: If your BAC (blood
alcohol content) at the time of arrest was .15% or greater,
you will be required to hold an ignition interlock re-
stricted driver license for a period of 6 months before
you are eligible for any other type of driver license.

Reinstatement requirements:

® Completion of all suspension actions on record; or

® Application for an ignition interlock restricted driver
license, if .15% BAC or higher at arrest, must show
proof of ignition interlock device installation; and

® Filing of an SR-22; and

® Payment of reinstatement fee.

2nd offense (within previous 10 years)

Length of suspension: One year. (If you served or are
serving a suspension for Administrative Per Se, an ad-
ditional nine-month suspension will be added to your
record.)
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Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? No, accord-
ing to Wyoming law. Limited driving privileges cannot

be issued for any DWUI after the first offense, unless
convicted of DWUI that includes alcohol.

Ignition Interlock Requirement: If convicted for DWUI
which includes alcohol, you will be required to hold an
ignition interlock restricted driver license for a period
of one year before you are eligible for any other type of
driver license.

Reinstatement requirements:

® Completion of all suspension actions on record; or

® Application for an ignition interlock restricted driver
license, if required, must show proof of ignition
interlock device installation; and

® Filing of an SR-22; and

® Payment of reinstatement fee.

3rd or subsequent offense (within 10 years)
Length of revocation: Three years.

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? No, unless
convicted of DWUI that includes alcohol.

Ignition Interlock Requirement: If convicted of 3rd
DWUI which includes alcohol, you will be required to
hold an ignition interlock restricted driver license for
a period of two year plus the remainder of the revoca-
tion period before you are eligible for any other type of
driver license.

If convicted of 4th or subsequent DWUI which includes
alcohol, you will be required to hold an ignition inter-
lock restricted driver license for life, but you may peti-
tion to the court, 5 years from your conviction date, for
removal of the lifetime ignition interlock requirement.

Reinstatement requirements:

® Completion of all suspension/revocation actions on
record; or

® Application for an ignition interlock restricted driver

license, if required, must show proof of ignition

interlock device installation; and

Filing of an SR-22;

Payment of reinstatement fee;

Undergo an alcohol/drug evaluation;

Successfully complete an alcohol/drug treatment

program;
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® Complete and pass a re-examination of the ability to
safely operate a motor vehicle. If you are re-licensed,
you may be restricted to “No alcohol or substance
abuse offenses," and must follow counselor's recom-
mendations. NOTE: If you have obtained an ignition
interlock restricted license and there are no viola-
tions, your re-examination and additional restriction
may be waived.

Youthful Driver Suspension

If you are younger than 21 years of age and are in actual
physical control of a vehicle with an alcohol concen-
tration of two one-hundredths of one percent (0.02
percent) or more, you will be suspended for DWUI.

First offense:
Length of suspension: 90 days.

Second or subsequent offense: (within two years)

Length of suspension: Six months.

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? You may
be eligible, if you have not been issued a probationary

driver license in the past five years and are otherwise
eligible. NOTE: You cannot have an ignition interlock
requirement.

Ignition Interlock Requirement

First offense:
If your BAC (blood alcohol content) at the time of ar-
rest was .15% or greater, you will be required to hold an
ignition interlock restricted driver license for a period
of 6 months before you are eligible for any other type
of driver license.

Second offense:

If convicted for DWUI which includes alcohol, you will
be required to hold an ignition interlock restricted driver
license for a period of one year before you are eligible
for any other type of driver license.

Other types of suspension

Reckless Driving Suspension
This suspension results upon receipt of a conviction of
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driving a vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for
the safety of persons or property.

First offense (within previous five years)
Length of suspension: 90 days.

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? You may
be eligible if you have not been issued a probationary
driver license in the past five years and you are other-
wise eligible.

Reinstatement requirements:

® Completion of all suspension actions on record;
® Filing of an SR-22; and

® Payment of reinstatement fee.

Second offense (within previous five years)
Length of suspension: Six months.

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? You may be
eligible if you have not been issued a probationary driver

license in the past five years and are otherwise eligible.

Reinstatement requirements:

® Completion of all suspension actions on record;
® Filing of an SR-22; and

® Payment of reinstatement fee.

Third or subsequent offense (within five years)
Length of revocation: One year.

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? No.

Reinstatement requirements:

® Completion of all suspension/revocation actions on
record;

® Filing of an SR-22;

® Payment of reinstatement fee;

® Complete and pass a re-examination of the ability to
safely operate a motor vehicle.

Transporting Liquor to a Minor Suspension
This results from a conviction for the intent of furnish-
ing any alcoholic liquid or malt beverage to any person
under the age of 21 while operating or occupying a
motor vehicle.

Length of suspension: One year.

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? You may be
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eligible if you have not been issued a probationary driver
license in the past five years and are otherwise eligible.

Reinstatement requirements:
® Completion of all suspension actions on record; and
® Payment of reinstatement fee.

Non-Resident Violator

Compact Suspension

This results when a court informs the department that
you have not complied with the terms of a traffic cita-
tion. This includes citations from other states as well as
Wyoming. The state where the violator is licensed takes
suspension action, not the state where the offense oc-
curred. (It is named the Non-Resident Violator Compact
to ensure that non-residents receive the same treatment
as residents when they receive a traffic citation.)

Length of suspension: Until notice of satisfaction of the
requirements of the citation are received from the court,
and payment of the reinstatement fee.

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? No.

Reinstatement requirements: (prior to start date of

suspension)

® Notice from the court indicating you have satisfied
the requirements of the citation. (Suspension will be
deleted from record.)

Reinstatement requirements: (after start date of sus-

pension)

® Notice from the court indicating you have satisfied
the requirements of the citation; and

® Payment of reinstatement fee.

Moving Violation Suspension

You are allowed up to three moving violations within
a 12-month period. Upon receipt of conviction for a
fourth moving violation, you will be notified that your
driving privilege will be suspended. A moving violation
means an act of control or lack of control by the driver
of a motor vehicle while the vehicle is in motion that
results in a conviction, including a conviction for driving
in violation of the restriction.

Length of suspension: 90 days. Each additional moving
violation received within a 12-month period will cause
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an additional 90-day suspension. The date of the offense
is used when determining the 12-month period. (**See
section “Restricted Class RC/RM Licenses" and "Inter-
mediate License Suspension” on page 25 for additional
suspension information.)

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? You may be
eligible if you have not been issued a probationary driver
license in the past five years and are otherwise eligible.

Reinstatement requirements:
® Completion of all suspension actions on record; and
® Payment of reinstatement fee.

Compulsory Insurance Suspension
This is a result of a conviction in court of not having
liability insurance.

Length of suspension: Until an SR-22 insurance form
has been filed with the department.

Am I eligible for limited driving privileges? No.

Reinstatement requirements: (prior to start date of

suspension)

® Filing of an SR-22 (Suspension will be deleted from
record.)

Reinstatement requirements: (after start date of sus-
pension)

® Filing of an SR-22

® Payment of reinstatement fee

Unlawful Use & False Application
Suspension and/or Cancellation

This suspension results from displaying, or using some-
one else’s license or identification card -OR- having
in your possession any license or ID card which has
been tampered with or altered. It is unlawful to lend
your license or ID card to someone else to use as their
identification, to knowingly make a false statement, give
fictitious information, use a false name, or conceal a fact
on an application for a license or ID card. It is against
the law to apply for a license or ID card using a name,
address, Social Security number or birth date belonging
to another person. These actions may result in the can-
cellation of the card, and/or a 90-day suspension for the
person using or lending the driver’s license or ID card.
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Child Support Suspension

This results upon notification from the Department of
Family Services (DFS) that you are in arrears of $5,000
or more for 90 consecutive days. The suspension will
remain in effect until notification is received from DFS
that the person has complied in full or has entered into
an approved payment plan, and a $5 reinstatement fee
is paid.

Restricted Class RC/RM License

Suspension

This suspension is the result of a moving violation
conviction when the driver is holding a class RC/RM
license at the time of offense. A 90-day suspension is
imposed for a first offense and a one-year suspension
for a second or subsequent offense.

Intermediate License Suspension

This suspension is the result of a violation of the restric-
tions for an intermediate license. A 30-day suspension
is imposed for this offense.

Driving under Suspension,

Revocation or Cancellation
This results in a 30-day suspension of your driving
privileges if you are under 21 years of age.

Uninsured Accident Suspension
This is a result of the driver's insurance not being verifi-
able at the time of the crash.

Reinstatement requirements: If you were uninsured,

you can do one of the following:

® Submit a notarized release from the other party(s)
involved in the crash stating they are not holding you
liable for their damages and/or injuries or that you
have made restitution to them; OR

® Submit a conditional release signed and notarized
by you and the other party(s) stating an agreement
has been made for you to make payments for their
damages and/or injuries; OR

® Post a cash deposit for the total amount of property
damage, plus $25,000 per injury. One year from the
date of the crash, you will be entitled to a refund of
your cash deposit; provided there are no judgments
against you.
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® If you are unable to provide any of the above, you
can provide a signed and notarized affidavit one year
from the date of the crash, stating that there are no
unsatisfied judgments as a result of the crash.

Should you be suspended, you will be required to pay
the reinstatement fee and file an SR-22 in addition to
one of the above requirements.

Suspension-related matters

Requests for limited driving privileges

and/or contested case hearings

In some suspension cases, you may be eligible for
limited driving privileges. If so, you may request a
Record Review to see if you are eligible to be issued a
probationary driver license which will allow you limited
driving privileges during the suspension period. You
must submit your request in writing and include the
required fee. Both the written request and the fee must
be postmarked within 20 days of the date of notice you
receive. You can only be issued one probationary driver’s
license in a five-year period

If you wish to contest the suspension of your privilege
to drive, you may submit your request for a Contested
Case Hearing, in writing, along with the required fee.
Your written request must be postmarked within 20 days
of the date of the notice you receive.

License reinstatement fee

Generally, the reinstatement fee for suspensions is $50.
This fee is in addition to any fees for a new driver license,
if one is issued to you. The reinstatement fee for a child
support suspension is $5.

Revocation

A revocation cancels your driver license, and you must

go through a driver investigation to be re-licensed once

the revocation is over. You cannot have limited driving

privileges during a revocation. Offenses that will cause

a revocation are:

e Third or subsequent Driving While Under the Influ-
ence (DWUI);

e Third or subsequent Reckless Driving;

e Leaving the Scene of an Injury Accident;
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e Homicide by Vehicle;
e A felony which is a direct result of the manner of
driving.

SR-22

An SR-22 is an insurance certificate that your insurance
company files with the department. Wyoming Statute
31-9-401 requires that proof of financial responsibility
be required for certain violations or actions. Proof of
financial responsibility must be maintained for three
years from the date it is required. When an SR-22 is on
file, the insurance company must notify the department
when there is a cancellation of the insurance. During a
suspension, the SR-22, for the duration of your ignition
interlock requirement, if required, is required to main-
tain your vehicle registration or for a probationary driver
license, if one is issued to you. If the SR-22 is not on file
by the end of your mandatory suspension, your driving
privilege will remain suspended until the SR-22 is filed.

Start of suspension/revocation

The start of a suspension/revocation is 30 days from
the date the order is mailed to you by the department
or given to you by law enforcement, or at the end of any
suspensions already on your record.

Ignition Interlock Devices

Ignition interlock devices are required to be installed,
at the applicant's expense, upon conviction of the fol-
lowing offenses:

e Six-month ignition interlock requirement if con-
victed, or receive a deferred prosecution, of a 1st
DWUI and the departments administrative action
indicates a BAC of .15 percent or greater.

e One-year ignition interlock requirement if convicted
of a 2nd DWUI when alcohol is involved.

e Two-year ignition interlock requirement if convicted
of a 3rd DWUI when alcohol is involved; however,
ignition interlock requirement for duration of three-
year revocation to legally drive.

e Lifetime ignition interlock requirement if con-
victed of a 4th or subsequent DWUI when alcohol
is involved; however, may petition for removal of
requirement five years after conviction date.

-27-



For more information, contact Driver Services at
307-777-3837.

Drivers convicted of alcohol-related offenses requiring
the ignition interlock device, are also required to do
the following:

File an SR-22 insurance form.

Pay the $50 reinstatement fee.

Pay the $100 ignition interlock fee.

Have the ignition interlock device installed on any

vehicle they drive at an installation site and by a

technician certified by the department.

e Bring the lease agreement/certification of installa-
tion to their local driver exam office to be issued the
IR restricted driver license. The applicant's driving
privilege must not be suspended, revoked or canceled
in this or any other state for any reason other than the
DWUI conviction that caused the ignition interlock
requirement, or the license cannot be issued.

e Take and pass any tests required for licensing.

A driver is not eligible for any other type of driver license
until they have held an ignition interlock restricted
driver license for the period required.

A driver may apply for a 24/7 restricted driver license
if they have received an order from the Court ordering
the driver to participate in the 24/7 Sobriety Program
in lieu of the ignition interlock requirement.

For a list of ignition interlock vendors and in-
stallers in Wyoming, please visit our website at:
http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/driver_license_records/
suspensionsignition-interlock/ignition_interlock.html

Safety laws/issues
The Driver License Compact

Wyoming is a member of the Driver License Compact.
The compact provides guidelines for greater cooperation
among states in driver license issues, and provides a one
license, one record concept. All states except Georgia,
Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee and Wisconsin are
currently members.
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How alcohol and drugs affect
you and your ability to drive

Alcohol the major cause of crashes
Driving while under the influence of alcohol is the major
cause of ALMOST HALF of the crashes in which some-
one is killed. Nationwide, nearly 25,000 persons die each
year because of drivers who ~\
have been drinking.

Alcohol is a drug that slows
the activity of the brain and
spinal cord. When alcohol
enters the stomach, it goes
directly into the blood and to
all parts of the body, includ- \g
ing the brain. Its effect is to

put the brain to sleep when taken in sufficient amounts.

J

Alcohol directly affects a person’s ability to drive. If
a person drinks increasing amounts of alcohol, the
amount of alcohol in the blood will rise accordingly,
and the degree of impairment and the intensity of the
effect will rise rapidly.

The amount or concentration of alcohol in the blood is

known as Blood Alcohol Concentration or BAC. Three

factors influence a person’s BAC:

® The amount of alcohol consumed;

® The period of time over which the alcohol was con-
sumed; and

® The person’s body weight.

Effects of the amount of alcohol

Pure ethyl alcohol is a colorless liquid that looks like
water but has a burning taste. It mixes readily with
other liquids. Its strength is reduced by the amount of
water or mix used. Beer usually contains about 5 percent
alcohol, wines 12 or 20 percent, and hard liquors, such
as whiskey, gin, vodka, rum, brandy, etc., about 40 to
50 percent. Therefore, 12 ounces of beer, three to five
ounces of wine, and one and one-half ounces of 86 proof
hard liquor each have about one-half ounce of alcohol.

Effects of time
When alcohol reaches the stomach, it is absorbed di-
rectly into the blood stream. As more and more alcohol
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is absorbed, the percentage of alcohol in the blood gets
higher and higher.

A person may feel the effects of alcohol shortly after
starting to drink. The effects will increase with the
passage of time since it takes 30 to 40 minutes to totally
absorb the alcohol contained in a single drink.

While food or milk in the stomach does slow absorption,
two hours later it won’t matter if you had been drinking
on a full stomach or not. If two persons of equal weight
drink the same amount they will have about the same
BAC at the end of that two-hour period. TIME IS THE
ONLY SIGNIFICANT FACTOR IN REDUCING BAC
LEVELS.

Approximately 90 percent of the alcohol in your body is
eliminated by the liver. It is eliminated at a constant rate
and this rate is about the same for all persons, about one
drink per hour. It CANNOT be eliminated any faster.
SHOWERING, DRINKING COFFEE OR EXERCISING
IN AN EFFORT TO SOBER UP ARE USELESS. Only
TIME can do the job.

Effects of body weight

Heavier people do have more blood and body fluids
which dilute a given amount of alcohol more than a light
person’s blood and fluids. Therefore if a heavy person
and a light person drink the same amount of alcohol,
the heavy person will likely have a lower BAC.

Drunkenness is not always apparent

A BAC of 0.02 percent is considered low and most
persons are not significantly affected by alcohol at this
level. On the other hand, a BAC of 0.08 percent is con-
sidered to be high, and people at this level are impaired
mentally and physically whether or not they show it.

Many people think that drunkenness is determined by
outward signs. They have in mind individuals who stag-
ger, slobber or put lamp shades on their heads. However
there are individuals who regularly drink to relatively
high BACs that do not show any of the outward signs.
Even though they are able to compensate and cover up
their drunkenness, they still increase their chances of
being in a crash, if they drive with a BAC of 0.02 per-
cent or higher. As a person’s BAC rises, their ability to
judge and make accurate decisions in traffic become
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more and more impaired, regardless of whether they
appear to be impaired.

Effects on decision-making

Alcohol seriously impairs the ability to drive safely because
the ability to IDENTIFY, PREDICT, DECIDE and EX-
ECUTE is seriously reduced.

® IDENTIFY: Senses such as vision, hearing, and body
position are reduced, and therefore a person’s ability
to detect hazards in a pattern of traffic is seriously
affected. Impaired drivers tend to fix their vision on
a particular object and not see others. The ability
to detect persons and vehicles to the side is almost
completely lost. Hearing is reduced, as is the ability
to judge distances. Drivers with a high BAC may also
lose their sense of body position, and with increasing
impairment, they may fade across the center line,
wander from lane to lane and even run off the road.

® PREDICT: Effective drivers predict what other driv-
ers might do to cause them problems, and driving
under the influence of alcohol, with the ability to see,
hear, and feel body position impaired, makes such
predictions difficult, if not impossible.

® DECIDE: The ability to make good decisions in
critical situations is also vitally important to safe
driving, and that ability is seriously affected when
it is based on faulty senses, faulty judgments and
poor predictions. Couple this with the false sense of
confidence and lack of good judgment that alcohol
provides, and you can see how very likely it is that the
impaired driver will make bad decisions in critical
driving situations.

® EXECUTE: In demonstrations using driving simu-
lators, test subjects often turn left when they think
they are turning right. They jam on the accelerator
when they think they are applying the brakes. This
happens even though the people being tested may
be sober by outward appearances and legal defini-
tion. Even if they execute correctly, they do so much
slower. Because of this reduced ability to execute, a
drinking driver, traveling at 55 mph, will drive an
additional 32 feet or more before he can apply the
brakes. Even at lower speeds, this added two-fifths
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of a second can be the difference between crashing
and not crashing.

Other factors

There are several other factors that influence a driver’s

ability to operate a vehicle safely when drinking. These

factors help explain why people behave differently when

affected by alcohol, and why some drivers show greater

impairment than others with the same BAC.

® DRIVING EXPERIENCE: Alcohol affects the inex-
perienced driver more than the experienced driver.
The poor or inexperienced driver will become a
much worse driver quicker when drinking, and even
small amounts of alcohol are likely to increase the
number of errors dramatically.

® DRINKING EXPERIENCE: The same can be said
of less experienced drinkers. Beginning drinkers
will often show greater impairment and be less able
to drive after drinking than a person who is a more
experienced drinker.

® DRIVING CONDITIONS: Unusual weather, lighting
and road conditions make driving more difficult and
call for a higher level of performance, while drinking
only reduces a person's ability to perform. The drink-
ing driver will not be able to lift his performance
level.

® MENTAL STATE: A person who is tired, angry, anx-
ious, emotionally upset, or even elated, may already
be impaired as a driver. The good driver will com-
pensate for these conditions, but alcohol reduces the
ability to do so. In fact, anger and alcohol have been
found to be one of the most dangerous combinations.
Simply put, alcohol makes it much more difficult for
people to control themselves.

Drinking and driving — Is it worth it?

If you are placed under arrest for driving under the

influence, a chemical test or tests to determine your

BAC may result. Under the Implied Consent law, driv-

ers are deemed to have given their consent to such tests

whenever driving on a public street or highway.

® If you REFUSE to take the required test or tests, law
enforcement may obtain a warrant to require the test
or tests to be administered by an approved tester.

® If you submit to the required test or tests and your
BAC s 0.08 percent or more, your driver license and
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driving privileges will be suspended for 90 days and
you may be subject to criminal penalties.

® And while a BAC of 0.08 percent or more may result
in a conviction, you may also be convicted of DWUI
with a BAC of 0.05 percent and other supporting
evidence.

It’s your decision

We would suggest you seriously consider planning
ahead so that you do not have to drive after you have
been drinking.

Other drugs

Most of the common drugs (diet, sleeping, allergy,

tranquilizers) affect at least one of the major skills you

need as a driver. Drivers need to know how drugs affect

their ability to Identify, Predict, Decide and Execute.

® Diet and "stay-awake" pills, known as “pep pills,
“uppers” and “speed,” give drivers a false feeling of
alertness and often increase self-confidence, which
may lead to excessive risk-taking. Some drivers try
to drive longer by taking “stay-awake” pills. However
these drugs keep drivers from realizing how tired
they are and that they therefore do not have the
ability to identify critical objects and make quick
decisions. Attempts to stay awake with drugs can
cause additional problems.

® Sleeping pills are intended to relax and help persons
sleep. They can make thinking difficult, affect emo-
tions and cause sleepiness. They can affect all of the
driving IPDE skills for several hours.

® Allergy pills and cold remedies: These pills can con-
tain a variety of antihistamines, bromides, codeine
and alcohol. They can cause a person to become
sleepy and impair a persons ability to think clearly.

® Tranquilizers: These pills are intended to help a
person calm down. The drugs cause a person to
become less alert and sleepy. They also make think-
ing difficult and affect emotions. The pills can affect
alertness, attention, judgment and reactions. The
effects may last for several hours.

® Mind-altering drugs: Marijuana, LSD, heroin and
similar drugs are illegal. They are often impure and
may vary in strength. These drugs often affect a
person’s mood, vision, reaction and ability to judge
time and space. They tend to make users indifferent
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to or even unaware of their surroundings. The total
effects are often unpredictable. Anyone under the
influence of these drugs must not attempt to drive a
motor vehicle.

Be cautious of new medicines. Do not drive until you
are certain that they will not impair your driving. You
should know that Driving While Under the Influence
of any controlled drug is not legal. You may be charged
and convicted of DWUI.

Ask your doctor about what effects any drugs he pre-
scribes might have on your driving.

Read the label carefully before you buy or use any over-
the-counter or non-prescription drug.

What to do when you are
stopped by law enforcement

There are many different reasons why a police officer
might stop you. Whatever the reason, the officer needs
your cooperation.

® The police may want to warn you about a potentially
dangerous situation.

® You may have committed a traffic violation.

® Your vehicle may match the description of one used
in a criminal act.

® The officer might think you are in trouble and need
help.

® You may have witnessed a crime.

If you are stopped by the police while driving, you may
feel confused, anxious, or even angry. These are natural
feelings, but remember, traffic stops can also be stressful
and dangerous for the police officer. Each year, many
law enforcement officers are killed or seriously injured
while making the “routine” traffic stop. When you see
the blue and red overhead lights and/or hear the siren,
remain calm, slow down, and pull over to the right of
the roadway in a safe location. Do not stop in the lane
of travel, on bridges, or against guardrails.
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Put your vehicle in park.

Do not exit your motorcycle unless asked to do so.
This is for safety reasons. Drivers and passengers
may be ordered to stay on the motorcycle, or told to
exit. Wait for direction from the officer.

Keep your hands on the handlebars so the officer can
see them.

Understand that each situation is unique, and the
police officer must alter his or her response to fit the
circumstance. Generally, however, a police officer:

1. Will provide his/her name upon request.

2

Will inform a person of the reason for being
stopped.

Inform the officer of any weapons you have and their
location. Do not reach or point to the location.

Avoid any sudden movements.

Comply with the officer’s request to see your driver’s
license, proof of insurance, and vehicle registration.
Wyoming law requires you to carry these with you.

If your documents are out of reach, tell the officer
where they are before you reach for them.

If there are passengers on your motorcycle, encourage
them to remain quiet, and cooperate with instruc-
tions. You, as the operator, are solely responsible for
your vehicle and passengers.

Answer all questions truthfully.

The officer may issue you a ticket. If you feel the
reason is vague or unclear, politely ask the officer
for details.

Avoid becoming argumentative. Arguing will not
change the officer’s mind. If you contest the violation,
you will have an opportunity to address the matter
in court.

You have the right to politely deny a request by a
police officer to search your motorcycle; however, if
probable cause is present, the officer has the right to
search your motorcycle without your consent.
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® If you come across an emergency or maintenance
vehicle with its lights activated on the side of the
road, remember Wyoming law requires you to merge
into the lane farthest from that working vehicle (in-
terstate) or to reduce your speed by at least 20 mph
(two lane road).

® [f you are being overtaken by an emergency vehicle
with its lights activated, Wyoming law requires you
to pull off to the right side of the road and stop until
the emergency vehicle has passed.
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County registration and titling locations
(T)=titling; (R)=registration; (B)=both

County | City Address Phone #

Albany Laramie 525 Grand Ave. ;g ggg; {F?)
Big Horn Basin 420 W. C St. ggggg% ((F?)
Campbell Gillette 500 S. Gillette Ave. ggg;ggg ((2)
Carbon Rawlins 415 W. Pine §§§j§§§§ ((F?)
Converse Douglas 107 N. 5th St. gggg?gg {F?)
Crook Sundance 309 Cleveland ggg}gii {F?)
Fremont Lander 450 N. 2nd St. gggﬁgi {F?)
Goshen Torrington 2125 E. A St. gggg?g.} {F?)
gg:ings Thermopolis 415 Arapahoe ggjgg}g ((F?)
Johnson Buffalo 76 N. Main St. 223;%2 EQ)
Laramie | Cheyenne 309 W. 20th gggigg; ((F?)
Lincoln Kemmerer 925 Sage Ave. 877-9006 (B)
Natrona Casper 200 N. Center ggggg;; ((Q)
Niobrara | Lusk 424 S. Elm St. ggﬁﬂ; ((2)
Park Cody 1002 Sheridan Ave. ggggg ((F?)
Platte Wheatland 800 9th St. ggggg;g ((F?)
Sheridan | Sheridan 224'S. Main g ((F?)
Sublette | Pinedale 21'S. Tyler 22;1{233 ((F?)
Sweetwater | Green River g(;lyg\;léFlaming g;ég;% ((F?)
Teton Jackson 200 S. Willow St. ;ggigg ((2)
Uinta Evanston 225 9th St. ;gggggg ((2)
Washakie Worland 1001 Big Horn Ave. gj;:g:)g} {F?)
Weston Newcastle 1 W. Main ;iggggg {F?)




Learn,
fine-tune
riding skills

Motorcycle Safety
Education Classes

The Wyoming Department of Transportation
offers both Basic Rider Course (BRC) and Ad-
vanced Basic Rider Course (BRC2) motorcycle
safety education courses at several locations across
Wyoming from May through September at a
nominal fee.

Passing the Wyoming Novice Rider Course will
waive the required skills and written testing when
applying for your Wyoming motorcycle license.

Basic Rider Course

The Basic Rider Course (BRC) was developed
by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. The course
is designed for those who have little or no riding
experience, although most experienced riders
will also benefit from the course. It contains ap-




prox1mately 20 hours of instruction, both in the
classroom and on-cycle. A mandatory e-Course
is completed within 30 days of the class. The e-
Course will take about 3 hours and must be com-
pleted prior to class. On the first day of your class,
you'll have an opportunity to familiarize yourself
with the motorcycle with a low risk, hands on
exercise. The class will continue through Sunday
afternoon. Motorcycles will be provided to use dur-
ing the course. Successful completion of this course
will allow a waiver of all testing requirements for
a Class M endorsement provided completion card
is presented to a Wyoming drivers services within
two years of course date.

Advanced Basic Rider Course (BRC2)

The BRC2 Rider Course developed by the Mo-
torcycle Safety Foundation. It is designed for those
who have three months or more motorcycling ex-
perience or for those who have completed the Basic
Rider Course (BRC). Unless you have advanced
motorcycling skills, it is strongly recommended
that you take the BRC prior to taking this course.
It contains approximately 5-6 hours of on-cycle
instruction. Short discussions of classroom topics
will be held between selected riding exercises. Ap-
plications and information on these two courses are
available at your local driver examination station.

If you have any questions re-
garding these courses, contact
the WYDOT Highway Safety
Program in Cheyenne toll free at
888-570-9904 or 307-777-4874.
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RULES OF THE ROAD
Speed

Lega I S peed I i m itS (All unless otherwise posted)

Interstate Highways.........ccocvcuveuvcrnennce 80 mph, 75 mph
Secondary Highways.......ccccecevvereneeneneenennennes 70 mph
Residential Areas.......cceeeecevnerneneerenneeneunennes 30 mph
BUSINESS ATEAS ...euvvuveirirenieeeieieiseiseiseiseiseiennes 30 mph
SchOOl ZONes.......cocueecicieieiirieseceenes 20 mph

Adjust speed

Adjust speed for road conditions

The only contact your motorcycle or car has with the
road is through its tires, and each only has an area of
rubber about the size of a person's hand on the surface
of the road. The grip provided by the tires, then, is
very dependent on the condition of the road itself. It
is imperative, therefore, that motorists drive according
to road conditions.

On curves
Adjust speed BEFORE entering a curve. Going too fast can
break the grip that tires have on the road.

Atintersections

Trees, bushes, or buildings at intersections can block the
view of vehicles coming from the side. Therefore ap-
proach a “blind” intersection at no more than 15 mph.

On slippery roads

Slippery roads reduce your tires' grip, so drive slower

than you would on a dry road. When driving on:

Wet road Reduce speed by at least 5-10 mph.

Packed snow Reduce speed by at least half.

Ice Reduce speed to a crawl. You may have
to slow even more if vehicles are ahead.

Adjust speed for traffic conditions

Crashes tend to happen when one driver is going faster

or slower than other vehicles on the road:

® If you are going faster than traffic, you will have to
pass other vehicles. You have more chances of having
a crash if you pass many vehicles.
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® Going slower than traffic or stopping suddenly is as
dangerous as speeding. The risk of rear-end collisions
is added to the risk of vehicles passing you.

® You should be able to identify slower-moving ve-
hicles. Adjust your speed gradually. Slowing suddenly
is a major cause of traffic crashes.

® Remember that you are sharing the road with bicy-
clists, and that they have as much legal right to be
on a public roadway as you. All bicycles should be
identified as slow-moving traffic and your speed and
driving should be adjusted to accommodate them.

Adjust speed for light conditions

Darkness

Never drive so fast that you cannot stop within the
distance you can see ahead with your headlights. Your
car lights will only let you see clearly about 250 feet.
If you then drive faster than 55 mph on a dark road,
you are really “driving blind” because you won't be able
to stop within the 250 feet ahead of you that is lit well
enough to see.

Rain, fog or snow

In a very heavy rain, snowstorm, or thick fog, you may
not be able to see more than 100 feet ahead. When you
can’t see any further than that, you cannot drive safely
at any speed. Whenever you cannot see well enough,
pull off the road and wait until it clears.

Motorcycle equipment
Required equipment

Every motorcycle is required to have:

® At least one headlight, one taillight, one brake light
and one red rear reflector;

® A mirror mounted on the left side of the vehicle as
to reflect the view of the highway to the rear of the
vehicle; and

® A muffler and a horn in good working order.

Turn signals, front and rear, are optional.
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Basic rules and regulations
Wyoming requires adherence to the following rules and
regulations for operating a motorcycle on the road:
® A person operating a motorcycle shall ride only upon

an attached permanent and regular seat, and the

motorcycle shall not carry any other person unless
the motorcycle is designed to carry more than one
person. In that event a passenger may ride upon the
permanent and regular seat if it is designed for two
people or upon another seat firmly attached to the
motorcycle at the rear or side of the operator.

® A person shall ride on a motorcycle only while sitting
astride the seat, facing forward, with one leg on each
side of the motorcycle.

® No person shall operate a motorcycle while carrying
any article which prevents him from keeping both
hands on the handlebars or obstructs his vision or
interferes with the operation of the motorcycle.

® All motorcycles are entitled to full use of a lane of
traffic.

® The operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake and
pass any vehicle in the same lane occupied by the
other vehicle unless it is another motorcycle.

® The operator of a motorcycle overtaking another
motorcycle in the same lane shall first match the
speed of the other motorcycle before passing.

® No person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of
traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.

® Motorcycles shall not be operated three or more
abreast in a single lane of traffic.

® No person riding a motorcycle shall attach himself

or the motorcycle to any other moving vehicle on a

roadway. This does not prohibit attaching a motor-

cycle trailer or motorcycle semi-trailer designed for
such an attachment.

® Any motorcycle carrying a passenger, other than
in a sidecar or enclosed cab, shall be equipped with
footrests for the passenger.

® No person shall operate any motorcycle with handle-
bars so positioned that his hands, when upon the
grips, are above shoulder height when he is sitting astride
the vehicle seat with the vehicle in an upright position.

® No minor shall operate or ride on a motorcycle
unless he is wearing protective headgear, of a type
that is approved, securely fastened on his head. The
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standard for protective headgear shall meet or exceed
the "290.1-1971 standard" of the American National
Standards Institute.

® Any person operating a motorcycle or pedestrian
vehicle (designed for use by a disabled person) shall
have the head lamps of the motorcycle or pedestrian
vehicle on at all times, including daylight hours.

Before you go
What you do before you start a trip goes a long way to-
ward determining whether you'll get there safely. Before
any trip, a safe rider makes a point to:
® Wear the right gear;
® Become familiar with the motorcycle;
® Check the motorcycle equipment; and
® Be aresponsible rider.

Wear the right gear
Your gear is “right” if it protects you. In any crash, you
have a far better chance of avoiding serious injury if you
wear: an approved helmet, face or eye protection and
protective clothing.

Helmet use

Crashes are common, particularly among beginning
riders, and one out of every five result in head or neck
injuries. Head injuries are just as severe as neck injuries
and far more common. Analyses also show head and
neck injuries account for a majority of serious and fatal
injuries to motorcyclists and that, with few exceptions,
such injuries are reduced by the proper wearing of an
approved helmet.

Helmet types
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Some helmet-related facts

An approved helmet lets you see as far to the sides as
necessary. A study of more than 900 motorcycle crashes,
where 40 percent of the riders wore helmets, found no case
in which a helmet kept a rider from spotting danger.

Most crashes happen on short trips, less than five miles
long and just a few minutes after starting.

Most riders are riding slower than 30 mph when a crash
occurs. At these speeds, helmets can cut both the num-
ber and the severity of head injuries by half.

No matter what the speed, helmeted riders are three
times more likely to survive head injuries than those
not wearing helmets at the time of the crash.

Helmet selection

There are two primary types of helmets, providing two

different levels of coverage: three-quarter and full face.

Whichever you choose, you can maximize protection

by making sure it:

® Meets U.S. Department of Transportation and state
standards (Helmets with a label from the Snell Me-
morial Foundation give you an added assurance of
quality.);

® Fits snugly all the way around; and

® Has no obvious defects such as cracks, loose padding
or frayed straps.

Whatever helmet you choose, keep it securely fastened

on your head when you ride. Otherwise it’s likely to fly

off before it gets a chance to protect you.

Eye and face protection

A plastic, shatter resistant face shield can help protect
your whole face in a crash. It also protects you from
wind, dust, dirt, rain, insects and pebbles thrown up
from cars ahead. These problems are distracting and
can be painful. If you have to deal with them, you can’t
devote your full attention to the road.

Goggles protect your eyes, though they won't protect the
rest of your face like a face shield does. A windshield is
not a substitute for a face shield or goggles. Most wind-
shields do not protect your eyes from the wind. Neither
will eyeglasses or sunglasses. Glasses won't keep your
eyes from watering, and they might blow off when you
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turn your head while riding.

To be effective, eye or face shield protection must:

Be free of scratches;

Be resistant to penetration;

Give a clear view to either side;

Fasten securely, so it does not blow off;

Permit air to pass through to reduce fogging; and
Allow room for eyeglasses or sunglasses, if needed.

Tinted eye protection should not be worn at night or
any other time when light is limited.

Clothing

The right clothing protects you in a collision. It also
provides comfort, as well as protection from heat, cold,
debris and hot and moving parts of the motorcycle.

Jacket and pants

Jacket and pants should cover arms and legs completely.
They should fit snugly enough to keep from flapping
in the wind, yet loosely enough to move freely. Leather
offers the most protection. Sturdy synthetic material
provides a lot of protection as well. Wear a jacket even
in warm weather to prevent dehydration. Many are de-
signed to protect without getting you overheated, even
on summer days.

Boots or shoes

Boots or shoes should be high and sturdy enough to
cover your ankles and give them support. Soles should
be made of hard, durable slip-resistant material. Keep
heels short so they do not catch on rough surfaces. Tuck
laces so they won't catch on your motorcycle.

Gloves

Gloves allow a better grip and help protect your hands
in a crash. Your gloves should be made of leather or
similar durable material.

In cold or wet weather, your clothes should keep you
warm and dry as well. You cannot control a motorcycle
well if you are numb. Riding for long periods in cold
weather can cause severe chill and fatigue. A winter
jacket should resist wind and fit snugly at the neck,
wrists and waist. Good-quality rain suits designed for
motorcycle riding resist tearing apart or ballooning up
at high speeds.
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Know your motorcycle
There are plenty of things on the highway that can
cause you trouble. Your motorcycle should not be one
of them. To make sure that your motorcycle won't let
you down:
® Read owner’s manual first;
Start with the right motorcycle for you;
Be familiar with the motorcycle controls;
Check the motorcycle before every ride;
Keep it in safe riding condition between rides; and
Avoid add-ons and modifications that make your
motorcycle harder to handle.

The right motorcycle for you

First, make sure your motorcycle is right for you. It
should “fit” you. Your feet should reach the ground while
you are seated on the motorcycle. At minimum, your
street-legal motorcycle should have a headlight, taillight
and brake light, front and rear brakes, turn signals, a
horn and two mirrors.

Borrowing and lending

Borrowers and lenders of motorcycles beware. Crashes
are fairly common among beginning riders, especially
in the first months of riding.

Riding an unfamiliar motorcycle adds to the problem.
If you borrow a motorcycle, get familiar with it in a
controlled area. And if you lend your motorcycle to
friends, make sure they are licensed and know how to
ride before allowing them out into traffic.

No matter how experienced you may be, ride extra care-
fully on any motorcycle that’s unfamiliar to you. More
than half of all crashes occur on motorcycles ridden by
the operator for less than six months.

Get familiar with the controls

Make sure you are completely familiar with the mo-

torcycle before you take it out on the street. Be sure to

review the owner’s manual. This is particularly impor-

tant if you are riding a borrowed motorcycle. If you are

going to use an unfamiliar motorcycle:

® Make all of the checks you would on your own
motorcycle;

® Find out where everything is, particularly the turn
signals, horn, headlight switch, fuel-control valve,
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and engine cut-off switch (Find and operate these
items without having to look for them.);

® Know the gear pattern, and work the throttle, clutch,
and brakes a few times before you start riding (All
controls react a little differently); and

® Ride very cautiously and be aware of surroundings
(Accelerate gently, take turns more slowly, and leave
extra room for stopping).

Check your motorcycle

A motorcycle needs more frequent attention than a car.
A minor technical failure in a car seldom leads to any-
thing more than an inconvenience for the driver.

If something’s wrong with the motorcycle, you'll want
to find out about it before you get in traffic. Make a
complete check of your motorcycle before every ride.

Before starting your trip, check the tires' air pressure
and general wear and tread, oil and fluid levels. At a
minimum, check hydraulic fluids and coolants weekly.
Look under the motorcycle for signs of an oil or gas leak,
check your headlight and taillight, and test your switch
to make sure both high and low beams are working.

Also check both right and left turn signals, and make
sure all lights are working properly. Try both brake con-
trols, making sure each one turns on the brake light.

Motorcycle controls

Light Switch
(high/low) Engine Cut-Off
Choke (varies) Switch

) Electric
Turn-Signal Start
Switch Button
K/ Ignition Key

(varies)

Horn

Button Throttle

Clutch Front Brake
Lever Speedometer Lever
& Odometer
Rear Brake
Pedal

(if equipped)

Gear-Change
Lever

Kick Starter
(if equipped)
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Once you are on the motorcycle but before starting

out, check:

® That clutch and throttle are working smoothly (The
throttle should snap back when you let go. The clutch
should feel tight and smooth.);

® That mirrors are clean and adjusted properly (It's
difficult to ride with one hand while you try to adjust
a mirror. Adjust each mirror so you can see the lane
behind and as much as possible of the lane next to
you. When properly adjusted, a mirror may show the
edge of your arm or shoulder, but it’s the road behind
and to the side that’s most important.);

® Your front and rear brakes one at a time, making sure
each feels firm and holds the motorcycle when it is
fully applied; and

® That your horn works.

In addition you should make weekly checks of wheels,

cables, fasteners and fluids. Refer to your owner’s

manual for recommendations.

Basic vehicle control
Body position

To control a motorcycle well be aware of your posture,
seat position, hands, knees and feet.

Posture: Sit so you can use your arms to steer the mo-
torcycle rather than to hold yourself up.

Seat position: Sit far enough forward so that your arms
are slightly bent when you hold the handle grips. Bend-
ing your arms permits you to press on the handlebars
without having to stretch.

Hands: Hold the handle grips firmly to keep your grip
over rough surfaces. Start with your right wrist flat. This
will help you keep from accidentally using too much

Holding handle grips




throttle. Also, adjust the handlebars so your hands are
even with or below your elbows. This permits you to use
the proper muscles for precision steering.

Knees: Keep your knees against the gas tank to help you
keep your balance as the motorcycle turns.

Feet: Keep your feet firmly on the foot pegs to main-
tain balance. Don’t drag your feet. If your foot catches
on something, you can be injured and it could affect
your control of the motorcycle. Keep your feet near the
controls so you can get to them quickly, if needed. Also,
don’tlet your toes point downward; they may get caught
between the road and the foot pegs.

Shifting gears

There is more to shifting gears than simply getting the
motorcycle to pick up speed smoothly. Learning to use
the gears when downshifting, turning or starting on hills
is important for safe motorcycle operation. Shift down
through the gears with the clutch as you slow or stop.

Remain in first gear while you are stopped so that you
can move out quickly if you need to.

Make certain you are riding slowly enough when you
shift into a lower gear. If not, the motorcycle will lurch,
and the rear wheel may skid.

When riding downhill or shifting into first gear, you may
need to use the brakes to slow enough before downshift-
ing safely. Work towards a smooth, even clutch release,
especially when downshifting.

Itis best to change gears before entering a turn. However,
sometimes shifting while in the turn is necessary. If so,
remember to do so smoothly; a sudden change in power
to the rear wheel can cause a skid.

Braking
Your motorcycle has two brakes, one each for the front
and rear wheel. Use both of them at the same time. The
front brake is more powerful and can provide at least
three-quarters of your total stopping power. The front
brake is safe to use if you use it properly. Remember:
® To use both brakes every time you slow or stop (Us-
ing both brakes for even “normal” stops will permit
you to develop the proper habit or skill of using both
brakes properly in an emergency. Squeeze the front
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brake and press down on the rear. Grabbing at the
front brake or jamming down on the rear can cause
the brakes to lock, resulting in control problems.);

® If you know the technique, using both brakes in a
turn is possible, although it should be done very
carefully (When leaning the motorcycle, some of the
traction is used for cornering, and then less traction
is available for stopping. A skid can occur if you apply
too much brake. Also, using the front brake incor-
rectly on a slippery surface may be hazardous. Use
caution and squeeze the brake lever, never grab.);

® Some motorcycles have integrated braking systems
that link the front and rear brakes together by ap-
plying the rear brake pedal (Consult the owner’s
manual for a detailed explanation on the operation
and effective use of these systems.).

Turning

Riders often try to take curves or turns too fast. When
they can’t hold the turn, they end up crossing into
another lane of traffic or going off the road. Or, they
overreact and brake too hard, causing a skid and loss
of control. Approach turns and curves with caution.
Use four steps for better control: SLOW, LOOK, LEAN
and ROLL.

SLOW: Reduce speed before the turn by closing the
throttle and, if necessary, applying both brakes.

LOOK: Look through the turn to where you want to go.
Turn just your head, not your shoulders, and keep your
eyes level with the horizon.

LEAN: To turn, the motorcycle must lean. To lean the
motorcycle, press on the hand grip in the direction of the
turn. Press left, lean left, go left. Press right, lean right,
go right. Higher speeds and/or tighter turns require the
motorcycle to lean more.

ROLL: Roll on the throttle through the turn to stabi-
lize suspension. Maintain steady speed or accelerate
gradually through the turn. This will help keep the
motorcycle stable.

In normal turns, the rider and the motorcycle should
lean together at the same angle. In slow tight turns,
counterbalance by leaning the motorcycle only and
keeping your body upright.
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Turning

Normal turning Slow turning

Keeping your distance
The best protection you can have is distance — a “cush-
ion of space” — all around your motorcycle. If someone
else makes a mistake, distance gives you time to react
and space to maneuver.

Maintain best lane position

In some ways the size of the motorcycle can work to your
advantage. Each traffic lane gives a motorcycle three
paths of travel, as indicated in the illustration.

Your lane position should:
® Increase your ability to see and be seen;

® Avoid others’ blind spots;

® Avoid surface hazards;

® Protectyourlanefrom [ |
other drivers; Lane

® Communicate your .
intentions; = pOSltlonS

® Avoid wind blast from
other vehicles; and

® Provide an escape
route.

No portion of the lane
need be avoided, includ-
ing the center. Position
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yourself in the portion of the lane where you are most
likely to be seen and you can maintain a space cush-
ion around you. Change position as traffic situations
change. Ride in path 2 or 3 if vehicles and other potential
problems are on your left only. Remain in path 1 or 2
if hazards are on your right only. If vehicles are being
operated on both sides of you, the center of the lane,
path 2, is usually your best option.

The oily strip in the center portion that collects drip-
pings from cars is usually no more than two feet wide.
Unless the road is wet, the average center strip permits
adequate traction to ride on safely. You can operate to
the left or right of the grease strip and still be within
the center portion of the traffic lane. Avoid riding on
big buildups of oil and grease usually found at busy
intersections or toll booths.

Following and being followed

Following another vehicle

“Following too closely” is a major factor in crashes
involving motorcyclists. In traffic, motorcycles need as
much distance to stop as cars.

Following »

7

yd
¥\

Normally, a minimum of two seconds distance should

be maintained behind the vehicle ahead. To gauge your

following distance:

® Pick out a marker, such as a pavement marking or
lamppost, on or near the road ahead;

® When the rear bumper of the vehicle ahead passes the
marker, count off the seconds: “one-thousand-one,
one-thousand-two;” and
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® [fyou reach the marker before you reach “two,” you
are following too closely.

A two-second following distance leaves a minimum

amount of space to stop or swerve if the driver ahead

stops suddenly. It also permits a better view of potholes

and other hazards in the road.

A larger cushion of space is needed if your motorcycle
will take longer than normal to stop. If the pavement is
slippery, if you cannot see through the vehicle ahead, or
if traffic is heavy and someone may squeeze in front of you,
open up a three second or greater following distance.

Keep well behind the vehicle ahead even when you are
stopped. This will make it easier to get out of the way if
someone bears down on you from behind. It will also
give you a cushion of space if the vehicle ahead starts
to back up for some reason.

When behind a car, ride where the driver can see you
in the rear view mirror. Riding in the center portion of
the lane should put your image in the middle of the rear
view mirror, where a driver is most likely to see you.

Riding at the far side of a lane may permit a driver to
see you in a side view mirror. But remember that most
drivers don’t look at their side view mirrors nearly as
often as they check the rear view mirror. If the traffic
situation allows, the center portion of the lane is usually
the best place for you to be seen by the drivers ahead
and to prevent lane sharing by others.

Being followed

Speeding up to lose someone following too closely only
ends up with someone tailgating you at a higher speed.
A better way to handle tailgaters is to get them in front
of you. When someone is following too closely, change
lanes and let them pass. If you can’t do this, slow down
and open up extra space ahead of you to allow room for
both you and the tailgater to stop. This will also encour-
age them to pass. If they don’t pass, you will have given
yourself and the tailgater more time and space to react
in case an emergency does develop ahead.

Avoid the No-Zone
One of the most serious misjudgments made about
trucks concerns the truck driver’s field of vision. Many
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believe that because a truck driver sits high, he can see
further ahead and can react sooner to developments on
the road. True, the truck driver has a better view over
the top of any vehicles ahead of him, but heavy vehicles
have serious blind spots that other vehicles do not.

Heavy vehicles have deep blind spots directly behind
them. Avoid tailgating in this No-Zone area. The truck
driver cannot see you in this position and your own
view of the traffic flow is severely reduced. Following
too closely not only greatly increases your chances of a
rear-end collision but also creates a hazardous situation
if debris such as ice, rocks and tire-recapping material
ends up in your path or strikes you or your motorcycle
through no fault of the truck driver. Heavy vehicles
also have very large blind spots on both the right and
the left side. When you drive in these blind spots (No-
Zones) for any length of time, you cannot be seen by
the truck driver. If the truck driver needs to change
lanes quickly for any reason, a serious or fatal crash
could occur.

Stay out of trucks’ No Zones (blind spots).

The “right-turn squeeze” happens when a motorcycle
finds itself in the blind spot located on the right side of
a heavy vehicle, which is turning right. Motorcyclists
who are aware of No-Zone areas when sharing the road
with heavy vehicles are better prepared to avoid potential
crashes. For all of the reasons listed above, it is best to
avoid loitering in any No-Zone area.

Passing and being passed

Passing and being passed by another vehicle is not
much different than in a car. However, visibility is more
critical. Be sure other drivers see you, and that you see
potential hazards.
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Passing

Decide if it is safe to pass.

® Do not pass if signs or pavement markings prohibit
passing. If you see any vehicles, pedestrians, bridges,
curves, hills, intersections, or railroad crossings just
ahead, do not pass; WAIT.

® Do not try to pass more than one vehicle at a time
on a two-lane road.

® Do not follow another vehicle that is passing a car in
front of you.

® [t is not legal to exceed the speed limit when pass-
ing.

® DO NOT pass a school bus with flashing red lights,
unless there is a physical barrier or separate roadway
between your motorcycle and the bus.

No-passing areas

Railroad,
Bridge,
Tunnel,
Viaduct

How to pass

® Before passing, ride in the left portion of the lane ata
safe following distance to increase your line of sight
and make yourself more visible. Signal and check for
oncoming traffic. Use your mirrors and turn your
head to look for traffic behind.

® When safe, move into the left lane and accelerate.
Select a lane position that doesn’'t crowd the car you
are passing and provides space to avoid hazards in
your lane.
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e Ride through the blind spot as quickly as possible.

e Signal again, and complete mirror and head checks
before returning to your original lane and then cancel
your signal.

Remember, passes must be completed within posted

speed limits and only where permitted. Know your signs

and road markings!

]| 1
Passing

I Al
¥

0

Being passed

When you are being passed from behind or by an on-

coming vehicle, stay in the center portion of your lane.

Riding any closer to them could put you in a hazardous

situation. Avoid being hit by:

® The other vehicle (A slight mistake by you or the
passing driver could cause a side-swipe crash.);

® Extended mirrors (Some drivers forget that their
mirrors hang out farther than their fenders.);

® Objects thrown from windows (Even if the driver
knows you're there, a passenger may not and might
toss something on you or the road ahead of you.);
And

® Blasts of wind from larger vehicles (They can affect
your control. You have more room for error if you
are in the middle portion when hit by this blast than
if you are on either side of the lane.).

Do not move into the portion of the lane farthest from

the passing vehicle. It might invite the other driver to

cut back into your lane too early.
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Passing heavy vehicles

When passing a tractor-trailer, take into account the
vehicle’s total length, particularly double trailers. Some
of these vehicles can be as much as 100 feet long. Make
sure you have adequate space.

When a motorcyclist cuts in too soon after passing a
heavy vehicle, then abruptly slows down, truck drivers
are forced to compensate with little time or room to
spare. Because it takes longer to pass a large vehicle, you
should maintain a consistent speed when passing and be
sure you can see both headlights and the entire cab of
the truck behind you before pulling back into your lane.

When approaching a construction zone, a motorcyclist
may be tempted to pass a heavy vehicle at a high speed
and then cut in front of the truck to avoid being trapped
behind it. However that can often result in not enough
braking distance between the truck and the motorcycle,
and the truck may unavoidably "rear end" the bike, caus-
ing a serious or even fatal crash.

Traffic signs, signals and road
markings

The different shapes and colors of signs are significant
and mean different things. If fading light, fog, rain, snow
or darkness makes them difficult to read, their shapes
can still tell informed drivers generally what to look for
or what to do. For instance, diamond-shaped signs are
meant to warn you of such things as road hazards, while
rectangular signs give regulatory information about
lawful speeds and directions.

ONLY [ | ONLY

Driver must turn Either turn left or Driver must turn
left. proceed straight right.

ahead. Right turn

is prohibited.
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The different shapes of signs are explained and shown in

full color on the inside and outside of the back cover. Be
sure and familiarize yourself with them. Pavement mark-
ings also provide the driver with important information
about the proper position of vehicles on the roadway.

Overhead signs
Overhead lane signs tell you what direction you must
go. When the word “ONLY” is used, you must go in the
direction the arrow points; there is no option. Arrows
painted on the roadway and arrows on the overhead
signs have the same meaning.

Use of lanes
On a two-lane roadway (one lane going in each direc-
tion) you are required to drive on the right side and to
yield the left half of the roadway to oncoming traffic.

On multi-lane roads, drive in the lane that has the
smoothest flow of traffic. It helps you keep a safe space
cushion and saves gas. When there are three or more
lanes going in one direction, the middle lane or lanes
are usually the smoothest. The left lane is for drivers
who want to go faster, pass or turn left. Slower drivers
and those turning right use the right lane.

If the road has two lanes going in one direction, the
right lane usually has the smoothest flow of traffic. On
roads that have special left turn lanes, the left lane may
have the smoothest flow of traffic.
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Railroad crossings
Where public highways and railways intersect, one or
more of the following warning devices mark the crossing
for your safety.

O'Q Advance warning signs advise
Y youto slow down, look and listen
for the train, and be prepared to

stop if a train is approaching.

wwemy  Pavement markings consist of
an R-X-R followed by a stop

line closer to the tracks. They Mk
may be painted on the paved
approach to a crossing. Stay be-
hind the stop line while waiting
for a train to pass.

Crossbuck signs are yield signs.
You are legally required to

yield the right-of-way to trains.
Slow down, look and listen for
the train, and stop if a train
approaches. When crossing
more than
one set of
tracks, there will be a sign below

the crossbuck indicating how

many there are.

Flashing red light signals: When the lights
are flashing, STOP! A train is approaching. You are legally

required to yield the right-of -way to the train. If there is
more than one track, make sure all tracks are clear before
crossing.

Flashing-light signals with gates: Stop when the lights
begin to flash and before the area where the gate will

lower across your road lane. Remain stopped until the
gates go up and the lights have stopped flashing. Proceed
when it is safe.

PREVENTING RAILROAD
CROSSING CRASHES
ISUPTO YOU!
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Pavement markings

White lines separate traffic going the same direction.
Yellow lines separate traffic flowing in opposite directions.

Broken lines indicate passing or lane changing is per-
mitted if the way is clear.

Solid white lines indicate that passing or lane changing
is hazardous.

Solid yellow lines indicate no passing or lane chang-
ing — unless making a left turn into or from an alley,
private road or driveway.

Broken yellow
lines separate
traffic flowing
in opposite
directions.

Car A may
pass if way is

Broken white

lines separate

traffic flowing in
Solid same direction

yellow lines
separate
traffic
flowing in
opposite
directions.
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Traffic crashes
If you're involved in a crash

If you are involved in a crash you must:

® Stop your vehicle at or near the crash scene and stay
there until the police have arrived and questioned
everyone involved;

® Give aid to any injured persons and send for an am-
bulance (DO NOT MOVE AN INJURED PERSON
unless there is danger of another crash.);

® Warn passing traffic (Have someone warn approach-
ing traffic to prevent further damage.);

® Get the names and addresses of all witnesses as well
as persons involved in the crash;

® Record the other driver’s name and address, driver
license number, make of vehicle, insurance company
name, model and year of vehicle, damage to the
vehicle, and license plate number; and

® Contact the police if there is an injury, death or
property damage amounting to $1,000 or more. The
law requires you to give the police information on
the crash at the time of the crash. The police will fill
out and submit an accident report to the Accident
Records Section of the Wyoming Department of
Transportation. You must submit a separate written
report of the crash to the Accident Records Section
of the Wyoming Department of Transportation
within 10 days and attach an estimate of repairs
or a statement of the total loss from an established
repair garage or an insurance adjuster employed by
an insurer licensed to transact insurance in this state.

Damaging unattended vehicles

If you damage an unattended vehicle or other property
and you cannot locate the owner, leave the following
information on a piece of paper where the owner can
find it:

® Your name, address and telephone number;

® Diriver license number;

® License plate number;

® Date and time of crash; and

® Damage to the vehicle.

Then you must also contact the nearest law enforcement
agency.
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Sharing the road safely

Know your responsibilities

Understand they're not 'accidents’
“Accident” implies an unforeseen event that occurs with-
out anyone being at fault or negligence. But most traffic
altercations or crashes are not accidents because most
often they could have been avoided had all involved
operated their vehicles correctly and responsibly.

Consider a situation where someone decides to try
to squeeze through an intersection on a yellow light
turning red. Your light turns green. You pull into the
intersection without checking for possible latecomers.
That is all it takes for the two of you to tangle. It was the
driver’s responsibility to stop. And it was your respon-
sibility to look before pulling out. Neither of you held
up your end of the deal.

Be proactive

Asarider you can't be sure that other operators will see

you or yield the right of way. To lessen your chances of

a crash occurring:

® Be visible (Wear proper clothing, use your headlight,
ride in the best lane position to see and be seen.);

® Communicate your intentions (Use the proper sig-
nals, brake light and lane position.);

® Maintain an adequate space cushion while follow-
ing, being followed, lane sharing, passing and being
passed;

® Scan your path of travel 12 seconds ahead;

® Identify and separate multiple hazards; and

® Be prepared to act (Remain alert, and know how to
carry out proper crash-avoidance skills.).

Blame doesn’t matter when someone is injured in a

crash. There is rarely a single cause of any crash. The

ability to ride aware, make critical decisions and carry

them out separates responsible riders from all the rest.

Remember, it's up to you to keep from being the cause

of, or an unprepared participant in, any crash.

Lane sharing
Cars and motorcycles need a full lane to operate safely.
Lane sharing is usually prohibited. Riding between
rows of stopped or moving cars in the same lane can
leave you vulnerable to the unexpected. A hand could
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come out of a window, a door could open, a car could

turn suddenly. Discourage lane sharing by others; keep

a center-portion position whenever drivers might be

tempted to squeeze by you. Drivers are most tempted

to squeeze you:

® In heavy, bumper-to-bumper traffic;

® While passing you;

® When you are preparing to turn at an intersection;
and

® When you are getting in an exit lane or leaving a
highway.

Merging cars
Drivers on an entrance ramp may not see you on the
highway. Give them plenty of room. Change to another
lane if one is open. If there is no room for a lane change,
adjust speed to open up space for the merging driver.

Cars alongside
Avoiding riding next to cars or trucks in adjacent lanes.
You could be in one of their blind spots, and they could
switch into your lane without warning. Close-by vehicles
also block your escape if you come upon danger in your
own lane. Speed up or drop back to find a place clear of
traffic on both sides.

SIPDE

Good, experienced riders remain aware of what is going
on around them. They improve their riding strategy by
using "SIPDE," an abbreviation for a five-step process
used to make appropriate judgments and to apply them
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correctly in different traffic situations. SIPDE stands for
scan, identify, predict, decide and execute.

Scan

Constantly search ahead, to the sides and behind to
avoid potential hazards before they arise. How assert-
ively you search and how much time and space you
have can eliminate or reduce harm. Focus even more on
finding potential escape routes in or around intersec-
tions, shopping areas, school and construction zones.

Search for:

® Oncoming traffic that may turn left in front of you;
® Traffic coming from the left and right;

® Traffic approaching from behind; and

® Hazardous road conditions.

Be especially alert in areas with limited visibility. Vi-
sually “busy” surroundings could hide you and your
motorcycle from others.

Identify

Locate hazards and potential conflicts:

® Vehicles and other motorcycles that could move into
your path and increase the likelihood of a crash;

® DPedestrians and animals (They are unpredictable and
make short, quick moves.); and

® Stationary objects such as potholes, guard rails,
bridges, roadway signs, hedges, and trees that will
not move into your path but may still influence your
riding strategy.

Predict

Consider speed, distance, and direction of hazards to
anticipate how they may affect you. Cars moving into
your path are more critical than those moving away
or remaining stationary. Predict where a collision may
occur. Completing this “what if ...2” phrase to estimate
results of contacting or attempting to avoid a hazard
depends on your knowledge and experience.

Decide

Determine what you may need to do based on your pre-
diction. The mental process of determining your course
of action depends on how well you searched. The result
is your action and knowing which strategy is best for the
situation. You want to eliminate or reduce the potential
hazard. You must decide when, where and how to take
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action. Your constant decision-making tasks must stay
sharp to cope with constantly changing traffic situations.

The decisions you make can be grouped by the number of
hazards encountered: single, double or multiple hazards.

Execute

Carry out your decision. For more space and to mini-

mize harm from any hazard:

® Communicate your presence with lights and/or horn;

® Adjust your speed by accelerating, stopping or slow-
ing; and

® Adjust your position and/or direction.

Apply the old adage “one step at a time” to handle two
or more hazards. Adjust speed to permit two hazards
to separate. Then deal with them one at a time as single
hazards. Decision making becomes more complex with
three or more hazards. Weigh consequences of each and
give equal distance to the hazards.

In high-risk areas, such as intersections, shopping areas,
school and construction zones, cover the clutch and both
brakes to reduce the time you need to react.

Intersections

The greatest potential for conflict between you and other
traffic is at intersections. An intersection can be in the
middle of an urban area, at a driveway on a residential
street or any other place where traffic paths cross. Over
one-half of motorcycle/car crashes are caused by drivers
entering a rider’s right-of-way. Cars that turn left in front
of you, including cars turning left from the lane to your
right, and cars on side streets that pull into your lane,
are the biggest dangers. Your use of "SIPDE," described
above, at intersections is critical.

There are no guarantees that others see you, and never
count on “eye contact” as a sign that a driver will yield.
Too often, a driver looks right at a motorcyclist and still
fails to “see” him. The only eyes that you can count on
are your own. If a car can enter your path, assume that
it will. Good riders are always “looking for trouble” in
order to stay out of it.

Increase your chances of being seen at intersections.
Ride with your headlight on in a lane position that
provides the best view of oncoming traffic. Provide a
space cushion around the motorcycle that permits you

to take evasive action.
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Large intersections I 'w
I

As you approach the intersection, select a lane position
to increase your visibility to the driver. Cover the clutch
and both brakes to re- -
duce reaction time. Re- Small

duce your speed. After intersections
entering the intersec-
tion, move away from
vehicles preparing to
turn. Do not change
speed or position radi-
cally. The driver might
think that you are pre-
paring to turn.

Blind

intersections

If you approach a blind intersection, move to the por-
tion of the lane that will bring you into another driver’s
field of vision at the earliest possible moment. In this
picture, the rider has moved to the left portion of the
lane, away from the parked car, so the driver on the cross
street can see him as soon as possible. Remember to see
as much as possible and remain visible to others while
protecting your space.

If you have a stop sign or stop line, stop there first. Then
edge forward and stop again, just short of where the
cross-traffic lane meets your lane. From that position,
lean your body forward and look around buildings,
parked cars or bushes to see if anything is coming. Just
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make sure your front wheel stays out of the cross lane
of travel while you're looking.

Blind
intersec_ti_ons

Roundabouts

Roundabouts are a safer, more cost-effective way
to build some intersections. By keeping traffic
moving and requiring fewer stops and starts than
conventional intersections, roundabouts reduce
crashes, delays and congestion, resulting in drops
in fuel consumption and emissions.

Traffic moves at slow speeds in a counterclockwise

At Roundabouts

3. Kee
movin% 'y and exit at

s yourroute
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direction and is constantly moving except when
yielding to traffic in the roundabout and pedestrians
in the crosswalks.

To navigate a roundabout:

1. Slow down as you approach the roundabout
and yield to pedestrians and traffic already in the
roundabout;

2. Look to the left, wait for a gap in traffic and merge
into the roundabout;

3. Once in the roundabout, keep moving, don't stop;

4. Proceed to your exit, use your turn signal to
indicate you are leaving the roundabout and yield to
pedestrians as you leave the roundabout;

5. Pedestrians should cross only in crosswalks.

Passing parked cars
When passing parked cars, stay to the left of your lane,
so you can avoid problems caused by doors opening,
drivers getting out or people stepping from between
cars. If oncoming traffic is present, it is usually best to
remain in the center-lane
position to maximize I

your space cushion. Parked

cars

A bigger problem can
occur if the driver pulls
away from the curb with-
out checking for traffic
behind. Even if he does
look, he may fail to see
you. In either event, the
driver might cut into your
path. Slow down or change
lanes to make room for
someone cutting in.

Cars making a sudden
U-turn are the most dan-
gerous. They may cut you
off entirely, blocking the whole roadway and leaving you
with no place to go. Since you can't tell what a driver
will do, slow down and get the driver’s attention. Sound
your horn, and continue with caution.
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Parking at the roadside
Park at a 90-degree angle to the curb with your rear
wheel touching the curb. i

Increase your BRZET{G
noticeability [NEILd§H

In crashes with motor-
cyclists, drivers often
say they never saw the
motorcycle. From ahead
or behind, a motorcycle’s
outline is much smaller
than a car’s. Also, it's hard
to see something you are
notlooking for, and most
drivers are not looking for )
motorcycles. More likely, \.‘
they are looking through I )
the skinny, two-wheeled

silhouette in search of

cars that may pose a problem to them.

=
|
-I

Even ifa driver does see you coming, you aren’t necessar-
ily safe. Smaller vehicles appear farther away and seem to
be traveling slower than they actually are. It is common
for drivers to pull out in front of motorcyclists, thinking
they have plenty of time. Too often, they are wrong.

However, you can do many things to be more conspicu-
ous, to make it easier for others to recognize you and
your cycle.

Clothing

Most crashes occur in broad daylight. Wear bright col-
ored clothing to increase your chances of being seen.
Remember, your body is half of the visible surface area
of the rider/motorcycle unit.

Bright orange, red, yellow or green jackets or vests are
your best bets for being seen. Your helmet can do more
than protect you in a crash. Brightly colored helmets
can also help others see you.

Any bright color is better than drab or dark colors.
Reflective, bright colored clothing (helmet and jacket
or vest) is best. Reflective material on a vest and on the
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sides of the helmet will help drivers coming toward you,
from behind you or from the side to spot you.

Headlight

The best way to help others see your motorcycle is to
keep the headlight on at all times, and, in fact, motor-
cycles sold in the U.S. since 1978 automatically have the
headlights on when running. Studies show that, during
the day, a motorcycle with its light on is twice as likely
to be noticed. Use of the high beam during the day
increases the likelihood that oncoming drivers will see
you. Use your low beam at night and in cloudy weather.

Signals

The signals on a motorcycle are similar to those on a car.
They tell others what you plan to do. However, due to
a rider’s vulnerability, signals are even more important
on a motorcycle.

Use them whenever you plan to change lanes or turn.
Use them even when you think no one else is around
to see them. It’s the car you don't see that’s the biggest
threat. Your signal lights make you easier to spot. That’s
why it’s a good idea to use your turn signals even when
what you plan to do is
obvious.

1
Signaling

When you enter onto
a freeway, drivers ap-
proaching from behind
are more likely to see your
signal blinking and make
room for you.

Turning your signal
light on before each turn
reduces confusion and
frustration for the traffic
around you. Once you
turn, make sure your
signal is off or a driver
may pull directly into your path, thinking you plan to
turn again. Use your signals at every turn so drivers
can react accordingly. Don’t make them guess what
you intend to do.

-71-



Brake light

Your motorcycle’s brake light is usually not as noticeable
as the brake lights on a car, particularly when your tail-
light (it goes on when the headlight does) is on. If the
situation will permit, help others notice you by flashing
your brake light before you slow down.

Itis especially important to flash your brake light before:

® You slow more quickly than others might expect
(turning off a high-speed highway); or

® You slow where others may not expect it, such as in
the middle of a block or at an alley.

If you are being followed closely, it’s a good idea to flash
your brake light before you slow. The tailgater may be
watching you and not see something ahead that will
make you slow down. This will hopefully discourage
them from tailgating and warn them of hazards ahead
they may not see.

Using your mirrors
While it’s most important to keep track of what’s hap-
pening ahead, you can’t afford to ignore situations
behind. Traffic conditions change quickly. Knowing
what’s going on behind is prerequisite for making a safe
decision about how to handle trouble ahead.

Frequent mirror checks should be part of your normal

scanning routine. Make a special point of using your

mirrors:

® When you are stopped at an intersection (Watch cars
coming up from behind. If the driver isn’t paying

Blind spots

Blind spots
1 1




attention, he could be on top of you before he sees
you.);

® Before you change lanes (Make sure no one is about
to pass you.); and

® Before you slow down (The driver behind may not
expect you to slow, or may be unsure about where
you will slow. For example, you signal a turn, and the
driver thinks you plan to turn at a distant intersec-
tion, rather than at a nearer driveway.).

Some motorcycles have rounded (convex) mirrors.
These provide a wider view of the road behind than do
flat mirrors. They also make cars seem farther away than
they really are. If you are not used to convex mirrors,
get familiar with them. While you are stopped, pick out
a parked car in your mirror. Form a mental image of
how far away it is. Then, turn around and look at it to
see how close you came. Practice with them until you
become a good judge of distance. Even then, allow extra
distance before you change lanes.

Head checks

Checking your mirrors is not enough. Motorcycles
have “blind spots” like cars. Before you change lanes,
turn your head, and look to the side for other vehicles.

On a road with several lanes, check the far lane and the
one next to you. A driver in the distant lane may head
for the same space you plan to take. Frequent head
checks should be your normal scanning routine. Only
by knowing what is happening all around you, are you
fully prepared to deal with it.

Horn

Be ready to use your horn to get someone’s attention
quickly. It is a good idea to give a quick beep before
passing anyone who may move into your lane. Here
are some situations:

® A driver in the lane next to you is driving too closely

to the vehicle ahead and may want to pass;
® A parked car has someone in the driver’s seat; or
® Someone is in the street, riding a bicycle or walking.

In an emergency, press the horn button loud and long.
Be ready to stop or swerve away from the danger. Keep
in mind that a motorcycle’s horn isn't as loud as a car’s.
Therefore, use it, but don’t rely on it. Other strategies
may be appropriate along with the horn.
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Crash avoidance
No matter how careful you are, there will be times when
you find yourself in a tight spot. Your chances of get-
ting out safely depend on your ability to react quickly
and properly. Often, a crash occurs because a rider is
not prepared or skilled in crash-avoidance maneuvers.

Know when and how to stop or swerve, two skills critical
to avoiding a crash. It is not always desirable or possible
to stop quickly to avoid an obstacle. Riders must also be
able to swerve around an obstacle. Determining the skill
necessary for the situation is important as well. Studies
show that most crash-involved riders:

® Under brake the front tire and over brake the rear;
® Did not separate braking from swerving or did not

choose swerving when it was appropriate.

Quick stops

To stop quickly, apply both brakes at the same time.
Don't be shy about using the front brake, but don’t “grab”
it either. Squeeze the brake lever firmly and progres-
sively. If the front wheel locks, release the front brake
immediately and then reapply it firmly. At the same
time, press down on the rear brake. If you accidentally
lock the rear brake on a good traction surface, keep it
locked until you have completely stopped. Even with a
locked rear wheel, you can control the motorcycle on a
straightaway if it is upright and going in a straight line.

Always use both brakes
. at the same time to stop.
Stoppl ng The front brake can pro-
Distance vide 70% or more of the

potential stopping power.

If you must stop quickly
while turning or riding a
curve, the best technique
is to straighten the bike
upright first and then
brake. However it may
not always be possible
to straighten the motor-
cycle and then stop.

If you must brake while leaning, apply light brakes and
reduce the throttle. As you slow, you can reduce your
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lean angle and apply more brake pressure until the
motorcycle is straight and maximum brake pressure is
possible. You should “straighten” the handlebars in the
last few feet of stopping, the motorcycle should then be
straight up and in balance.

Swerving or turning quickly
Sometimes you may not —
have enough room to Swerve, I f
stop. An object might

appear suddenly in your then
path, or a car ahead brake
might stop suddenly. The ]
only way to avoid a crash

may be to turn quickly or
swerve around it.

A swerve is any sud-
den change in direc-
tion. It can be two quick
turns, or a rapid shift to
the side. Apply a small
amount of hand pres-
sure to the hand grip
located on the side of
your intended direction
of escape. This will cause

1
the motorcycle to lean Brake, then
quickly. The sharper the swerve
turn(s), the more the mo- 1

torcycle must lean.

Keep your body upright
and allow the motorcycle
to lean in the direction
of the turn while keep-
ing your knees against
the tank and your feet
solidly on the pegs. Let
the motorcycle move un-
derneath you. Make your
escape route the target of
your vision. Press on the
opposite hand grip once
you clear the obstacle to
return you to your origi-
nal direction of travel. To swerve to the left, press the
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left hand grip, then press the right to recover. To swerve
to the right, press right, then left.

IF BRAKING IS REQUIRED, SEPARATE IT FROM
SWERVING. Brake before or after, never while swerving.

Cornering

A primary cause of single-vehicle crashes is motorcy-
clists running wide in a curve or turn and colliding with
the roadway or a fixed object.

Every curve is different. Be alert to whether a curve
remains constant, gradually widens, gets tighter or in-
volves multiple turns. Ride within your skill level and
posted speed limits.

Your best path may not always follow the curve of the
road. Change lane position depending on traffic, road
conditions and curve of the road.

Constant curves Multiple curves

I Decreasing curves

(Tighter turns)

If no traffic is present, start at the outside of a curve to
increase your line of sight and the effective radius of the
turn. As you turn, move toward the inside of the curve,
and as you pass the center, move to the outside to exit.

Another alternative is to move to the center of your lane
before entering a curve and stay there until you exit.
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This permits you to spot approaching traffic as soon as
possible. You can also adjust for traffic “crowding” the
center line or debris blocking part of your lane.

Hazardous situations
Riding at night

At night it is harder for you to see and be seen. Picking

your headlight or taillight out of the car lights around

you is not easy for other drivers. To compensate, you

should:

® Reduce your speed (Ride even slower than you would
during the day, particularly on roads you don’'t know
well. This will increase your chances of avoiding a
hazard.);

® Increase your distance (Distances are harder to judge
at night than during the day. Your eyes rely upon
shadows and light contrasts to determine how far
away an object is and how fast it is coming. These
contrasts are missing or distorted under artificial
lights at night. Open up a three-second following
distance or more, and allow more distance to pass
and be passed.);

® Use the car ahead (The headlights of the car ahead
can give you a better view of the road than even your
high beam can, and taillights bouncing up and down
can alert you to bumps or rough pavement.);

® Use your high beam (Get all the light you can. Use
your high beam whenever you are not following or
meeting a car. Be visible, wear reflective materials
when riding at night.); and

® Be flexible about lane position (Change to whatever
portion of the lane is best able to help you see, be
seen, and keep an adequate space cushion.).

Dangerous surfaces

Your chance of falling or being involved in a crash
increases whenever you ride across uneven surfaces or
obstacles, slippery surfaces, railroad tracks or grooves
and gratings.

Uneven surfaces and obstacles
Watch for uneven surfaces such as bumps, broken pave-
ment, potholes or small pieces of highway trash.

Try to avoid obstacles by slowing or going around them.
If you must go over the obstacle, first, determine if it
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is possible. Approach it at as close to a 90-degree angle

as possible. Look where you want to go to control your

path of travel. If you have to ride over the obstacle, you

should:

® Slow down as much as possible before contact;

® Be sure the motorcycle is straight;

® Rise slightly off the seat with your weight on the foot
pegs to absorb the shock with your knees and elbows
and avoid being thrown off the motorcycle; and

® Just before contact, roll on the throttle slightly to

Obstacles

lighten the front end.

If you ride over an object on the street, pull off the road
and check your tires and rims for damage before riding
any farther.

Slippery surfaces

Motorcycles handle better when ridden on surfaces

that permit good traction. Surfaces that provide poor

traction include:

® Wet pavement, particularly just after it starts to rain
and before surface oil washes to the side of the road;

® Gravel roads or where sand and gravel collect;

® Mud, snow, and ice; and

® Lane markings, steel plates and manhole covers,
especially when wet.

To ride safely on slippery surfaces:

® Reduce speed (Slow down before you get to a slip-
pery surface to lessen your chances of skidding. Your
motorcycle needs more distance to stop. And, it is
particularly important to reduce speed before enter-
ing wet curves.);

® Avoid sudden moves (Any sudden change in speed or
direction can cause a skid. Be as smooth as possible
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when you speed up, shift gears, turn or brake.);

® Use both brakes (The front brake is still effective,
even on a slippery surface. Squeeze the brake lever
gradually to avoid locking the front wheel. Remem-
ber, gentle pressure on the rear brake.);

® Watch the center of a lane which can be hazardous
when wet (When it starts to rain, ride in the tire
tracks left by cars. Often the left tire track will be the
best position, depending on traffic and other road
conditions as well.);

® Watch for oil spots when you put your foot down to
stop or park (You may slip and fall.);

® Watch for dirt and gravel that can collect along the
sides of the road, especially on curves and ramps
leading to and from highways (Be aware of what’s on
the edge of the road, particularly when making sharp
turns and getting on or off freeways at high speeds.);

® Be aware that rain dries and snow melts faster on
some sections of a road than on others (Patches of
ice tend to crop up in low or shaded areas and on
bridges and overpasses. Wet surfaces or wet leaves
are just as slippery. Ride on the least slippery portion
of the lane and reduce speed.).

Cautious riders avoid roads covered with ice or snow.
If you can’t avoid them, keep your motorcycle straight
up and proceed as slowly as possible. If you encounter
a large surface so slippery that you must coast or travel
at a walking pace, consider letting your feet skim along
the surface. If the motorcycle starts to fall, you can catch
yourself. Keep off the brakes. If possible, squeeze the
clutch and coast. But attempting this maneuver at any-
thing other than the slowest of speeds can be hazardous.

Railroad & trolley tracks & pavement seams
Usually it is safer to ride straight within your lane to
cross tracks. Turning to take tracks head-on (at a 90-de-
gree angle) can be more dangerous, because that path
may carry you into another lane of traffic.

For track and road seams that run parallel to your
course, move far enough away from tracks, ruts or pave-
ment seams to cross at an angle of at least 45 degrees.
Then, make a quick, sharp turn. Edging across could
catch your tires and throw you off balance.
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Grooves and gratings

Riding over rain grooves or bridge gratings may cause a
motorcycle to weave. The uneasy, wandering feeling is
generally not hazardous. Relax, maintain a steady speed
and ride straight across. Crossing at an angle forces rid-
ers to zigzag to stay in the lane. The zigzag is far more
hazardous than the wandering feeling.

Crossing grates
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Mechanical problems/guidelines

You can find yourself in an emergency the moment
something goes wrong with your motorcycle. In deal-
ing with any mechanical problem, take into account the
road and traffic conditions you face.

Tire failure

You will seldom hear a tire go flat. If the motorcycle
starts handling differently, it may be a tire failure. This
can be dangerous. You must be able to tell from the
way the motorcycle reacts. If one of your tires suddenly
loses air, react quickly to keep your balance. Pull off and
check the tires.

If the front tire goes flat, the steering will feel “heavy” A
front flat is particularly hazardous because it affects your
steering. You have to steer well to keep your balance.
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If the rear tire goes flat, the back of the motorcycle may
jerk or sway from side to side.

If either tire goes flat while riding:

® Hold handle grips firmly, ease off the throttle, and
keep a straight course;

® [f braking is required however, gradually apply the
brake of the tire that isn’t flat, if you are sure which
one it is; and

® When the motorcycle slows, edge to the side of the
road, squeeze the clutch and stop.

Stuck throttle

Twist the throttle back and forth several times. If the
throttle cable is stuck, this may free it. If the throttle
stays stuck, immediately operate the engine cut-off
switch, and pull in the clutch at the same time. This will
remove power from the rear wheel, though engine noise
may not immediately decline. Once the motorcycle is
“under control,” pull off and stop.

After you have stopped, check the throttle cable care-
fully to find the source of the trouble. Make certain the
throttle works freely before you start to ride again.

Wobble

A “wobble” occurs when the front wheel and handlebars
suddenly start to shake from side to side at any speed.
Most wobbles can be traced to improper loading, un-
suitable accessories or incorrect tire pressure. If you
are carrying a heavy load, lighten it. If you can't, shift
it. Center the weight lower and farther forward on the
motorcycle. Make sure tire pressure, spring pre-load, air
shocks and dampers are at the settings recommended for
that much weight. Make sure windshields and fairings
are mounted properly.

Check for poorly adjusted steering; worn steering parts; a
front wheel that is bent, misaligned or out of balance; loose
wheel bearings or spokes; and swing-arm bearings. If none
of these are determined to be the cause, have the motorcycle
checked out thoroughly by a qualified professional.

Trying to “accelerate out of a wobble” will only make

the motorcycle more unstable. Instead:

® Grip the handlebars firmly, but don’t fight the
wobble;

® Close the throttle gradually to slow down (Do not
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apply the brakes; braking could make the wobble
worse.);

® Move your weight as far forward and down as
possible; and

® Pull off the road as soon as you can to fix the
problem.

Chain problems

A chain that slips or breaks while you're riding could
lock the rear wheel and cause your cycle to skid. Chain
slippage or breakage can be avoided by proper main-
tenance.

Slippage: If the chain slips when you try to speed up
quickly or ride uphill, pull off the road. Check the
chain and sprockets. Tightening the chain may help.
If the problem is a worn or stretched chain or worn or
bent sprockets, replace the chain, the sprockets, or both
before riding again.

Breakage: You'll notice an instant loss of power to the
rear wheel. Close the throttle and brake to a stop.

Engine seizure
When the engine “locks” or “freezes” it is usually low
on oil. The engine’s moving parts can’t move smoothly
against each other, and the engine overheats. The first
sign may be a loss of engine power or a change in the
engine’s sound. Squeeze the clutch lever to disengage the
engine from the rear wheel. Pull off the road and stop.
Check the oil. If needed, 0il should be added as soon as
possible or the engine will seize. When this happens, the
effect is the same as
a locked rear wheel.

Let the engine cool Not all ROADK".I.
is

before restarting.
wildlife

Animals

Naturally, you should
do everything you
safely can to avoid
hitting an animal.
If you are in traffic,
however, remain in
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less dangerous to you than hitting something big, like
acar.

Motorcycles seem to attract dogs. If you are chased,
downshift and approach the animal slowly. As you ap-
proach it, accelerate away and leave the animal behind.
Don't kick at an animal. Keep control of your motor-
cycle, and look to where you want to go. For larger
animals (deer, elk, cattle), brake and prepare to stop.
They are unpredictable.

Flying objects

From time to time, riders are struck by insects, cigarettes
thrown from cars or pebbles kicked up by the tires of
the vehicle ahead. If you are wearing face protection, it
might get smeared or cracked, making it difficult to see.
Without face protection, an object could hit you in the
eye, face or mouth. Whatever happens, keep your eyes
on the road and your hands on the handlebars. When
safe, pull off the road and repair the damage.

Getting off the road

If you need to leave the road to check the motorcycle or

just to rest for a while, be sure you:

® Check the roadside (Make sure the surface of the
roadside is firm enough to ride on. If it is soft grass,
loose sand or if you're just not sure about it, slow way
down before you turn onto it.);

® Signal (Drivers behind might not expect you to slow
down. Give a clear signal that you will be slowing
down and changing direction. Check your mirror,
and make a head check before you take any action.);

® Pull off the road (Get as far off the road as you can.
It can be very hard to spot a motorcycle by the side
of the road. You don’t want someone else pulling off
at the same place you are.); and

® Park carefully (Loose and sloped shoulders can make
setting the side or center stand difficult.).

Cell phones

Cell phones are a convenience but can divert your atten-
tion away from the task of riding. This lack of attention
to the road may create a dangerous situation for you and
other vehicles around you. When possible, pull off to the
side of the road when using your cell phone.
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Cell phones are everywhere. In emergencies they can
be lifesavers, and, at other times, they can simply be a
great communications tool. But using a cell phone while
operating a motorcycle is a very dangerous thing to do
and should be avoided.

Federal studies have shown that using cell phones, in-
cluding the hands-free variety, has precipitated many
crashes and near misses. And, in fact, using hands-free
cell phones provides little safety benefit over hand-held
phones, according to the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration. In addition, the research shows
that it is the actual process of conversing that proves to
be among the greatest driver distractions.

Wyoming law prohibits reading or sending a text mes-
sage from a cell phone or other device while operating
avehicle. Some cities and towns in Wyoming have ordi-
nances against using a cell hone phone while operating
a vehicle within city limits, so be sure to check ahead
and watch for notifications banning the used of a cell
phone. WYDOT recommends vehicle operators pull
well off the highway and stop before making a cellular
call or texting.

Always remember, your first responsibility when you
are riding is to pay attention to the road.

Fatigue

Operating a motorcycle while you are tired is also a very

dangerous thing to do. To avoid fatigue:

® Limit your distance (Experienced riders seldom try
to ride more than about six hours a day.);

® Take frequent rest breaks (Stop, and get off the mo-
torcycle at least every two hours.); and

® Don't drink or use drugs (Artificial stimulants often
result in extreme fatigue or depression when they
start to wear off. Riders are unable to concentrate
on the task at hand.)
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Sharing your motorcycle,
riding in groups
Carrying passengers, cargo

Only experienced riders should carry passengers or large
loads. The extra weight changes the way the motorcycle
handles, balances, turns, speeds up and slows down.
Before taking a passenger or heavy load on a street,
practice away from traffic.

Equipment

To carry passengers safely:

® Equip and adjust your motorcycle to carry passen-
gers;

® Instruct the passenger before you start; and

® Adjust your riding technique for the added weight.

Equipment should include:

® A proper seat, large enough to hold both of you
without crowding (You should not sit any farther
forward than you usually do.);

® Foot pegs for the passenger (Firm footing prevents
your passenger from falling off and pulling you off
too.); and

® Protective equipment, the same protective gear rec-
ommended for operators.

Adjust the suspension to handle the additional weight.
You will probably need to add a few pounds of pressure
to the tires if you carry a passenger (Check your owner’s
manual for appropriate settings.). While your passenger
sits on the seat with you, adjust the mirror and headlight
according to the change in the motorcycle’s angle.

Instructing passengers

Even if your passenger is a motorcycle rider, provide
complete instructions before you start. Tell your pas-
senger to:

® Get on the motorcycle only after you have started
the engine;

Sit as far forward as possible without crowding you;
Hold firmly to your waist, hips or belt;

Keep both feet on the pegs, even when stopped;
Keep legs away from the muffler(s), chains or other
moving parts;

Stay directly behind you, leaning as you lean; and
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® Avoid unnecessary talk or motion.

Also, tell your passenger to tighten his or her hold

when you:

® Approach surface problems;

® Are about to start from a stop; and

® Warn that you are about to make a quick or sudden
move.

Riding with passengers

Your motorcycle will respond more slowly with a pas-

senger on board. The heavier your passenger, the longer

it will take to slow down, speed up or turn, especially

on a light motorcycle. Always:

® Ride a little slower, especially when taking curves,
corners or bumps;

® Start slowing earlier as you approach a stop;

® Open up a larger cushion of space ahead and to the
sides; and

® Wait for larger gaps to cross, enter or merge in
traffic.

Warn your passenger of special conditions, such as when
you will pull out, stop quickly, turn sharply or ride over
a bump. Turn your head slightly to make yourself un-
derstood, but keep your eyes on the road ahead.

Carrying loads

Most motorcycles are not designed to carry much cargo.

Small loads can be carried safely if positioned and fas-

tened properly. Make sure to:

® Keep the load low (Fasten loads securely, or put them
in saddle bags. Piling loads against a sissybar or frame
on the back of the seat raises the motorcycle’s center
of gravity and disturbs its balance.);

® Keep the load forward (Place the load over, or in
front of, the rear axle. Tank bags keep loads forward,
but use caution when loading hard or sharp objects.
Make sure a tank bag does not interfere with handle-
bars or controls. Mounting loads behind the rear axle
can affect how the motorcycle turns and brakes. It
can also cause a wobble.);

® Distribute the load evenly (Load saddlebags with
about the same weight. An uneven load can cause
the motorcycle to drift to one side.);

® Secure the load (Fasten the load securely with elastic
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cords, such as bungee cords or nets. Elastic cords with
more than one attachment point per side are more
secure. A tightload won't catch in the wheel or chain,
causing it to lock up and skid. Rope tends to stretch,
and knots come loose, permitting the load to shift or
fall.); and

® Checktheload (Stop and check the load occasionally
to make sure it has not worked loose or moved.).

Group riding
If you ride with others, do it in a way that promotes
safety and doesn't interfere with the flow of traffic.

Keep the group small

Small groups make it easier and safer for car drivers who
need to get around them. A small number isn’t separated
as easily by traffic or red lights. Riders won't always be
hurrying to catch up. If your group is larger than four or
five riders, divide it up into two or more smaller groups.

Keep the group together

® Plan (The leader should look ahead for changes
and signal early so “the word gets back” in plenty of
time. Start lane changes early to permit everyone to
complete the change.);

® Put beginners up front (Place inexperienced riders
just behind the leader. That way the more experi-
enced riders can watch them from the back.);

® Follow those behind (Let the tailender set the pace.
Use your mirrors to I
keep an eye on the per-
son behind. If a rider Stagge.red
falls behind, everyone formation
should slow down a
little to stay with the
tailender.); and

® Know the route (Make
sure everyone knows
the route. Then if some-
one is separated, they
won't have to hurry to
keep from getting lost
or taking a wrong turn.
Plan frequent stops on
long rides.).
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Keep your distance

Maintain close ranks but at the same time keep a safe

distance to allow each rider in the group time and space

to react to hazards. A close group takes up less space on

the highway, is easier to see and is less likely to be sepa-

rated. However, it must be done properly. You should:

® Not pair up (Never operate directly alongside another
rider. There is no place to go if you have to avoid a
car or something on the road. To talk, wait until you
are both stopped.);

® Maintain a staggered formation (This is the best way
to keep ranks close yet maintain an adequate space
cushion. The leader rides in the left side of the lane,
while the second rider stays one second behind in
the right side of the lane. A third rider maintains in
the left position, two seconds behind the first rider.
The fourth rider would keep a two-second distance
behind the second rider. This formation keeps the
group close and permits each rider a safe distance
from others ahead, behind and to the sides.);

® Pass in formation (Riders in a staggered formation
should pass one at a time. First, the lead rider should
pull out and pass when it is safe. After passing, the
leader should return to the left position and continue
riding at passing speed to open room for the next
rider. After the first rider passes safely, the second
rider should move up to the left position and watch
for a safe chance to pass. After passing, this rider

I I
Group passing |} | Group passing

(Stage 1) (Stage 2)
] acon [}




should return to the right position and open up room
for the next rider.).

Some people suggest that the leader should move to the
right side after passing a vehicle. This is not a good idea.
It encourages the second rider to pass and cut back in
before there is a large enough space cushion in front of
the passed vehicle. It’s simpler and safer to wait until
there is enough room ahead of the passed vehicle to
allow each rider to move into the same position he or
she held before the pass.

Single-file formation
It is best to move into a single file formation when riding
curves, turning, entering or leaving a highway.

Moped tips
An accidental take-off can be a problem when a Moped
is on its kickstand with the motor running. Hold the
rear brake on firmly.

Driving a moped
A moped may be operated with a class license, instruc-
tion permit or restricted “RM” license.

When traveling behind another moped, stay at least
two vehicle lengths back and slightly to one side of
the moped in front. Before a turn or stop, the driver
in front should signal early, to give the driver behind
plenty of warning.

When making right turns, watch out for any car which
may also be turning right. If it turns sharply, it could
run your moped off the road or actually run into your
vehicle. You're safest if you stay far enough behind and
to the right of the rear bumper. Then, you're not in the
motorists blind spot and can watch his directional signals.

Always signal properly. Use electric signals if your mo-

ped has them or use hand signals. Hand signals, always

given with the left hand, are:

® For a left turn, the left hand and arm are extended
horizontally;

® For aright turn, the left hand and arm are extended
upward;
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® To stop or slow, the left hand and arm are extended
downward.

Pedaling

Keep your feet on the pedals, even with the motor run-
ning. If you don't, the pedals may keep on turning and
could hit the pavement when you lean to turn. When
the motor is off, the moped should pedal like a regular
bicycle. The chain should turn freely without touching
the chain guard. Pedaling a moped is much tougher than
a regular bike however, and it’s important to have your
seat and handlebars adjusted to make pedaling easy.
Your heels should be able to touch the ground while you
are seated astride the saddle. This will allow your legs
to almost straighten on each downward stroke. Pedal
with the balls of the feet for maximum power with least
effort. You will often find it useful to pedal to help the
motor when going up hills. Going downbhill, don’t pedal.
Instead, turn off the motor and “pump” the brakes.

Service and repair

Leave major repairs to dealers. Take your moped in for
routine maintenance at regular intervals. For minor
repairs, carry a set of small tools, including wrenches,
screwdrivers and pliers. Also carry extra light bulbs and
a spare spark plug. Know how to fix a flat tire. Carry a
spare tube, patch kit and hand air pump, especially on
longer trips.
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Definitions

Authorized Emergency Vehicles: fire, police or ambu-
lance vehicles or others approved by statute.

Bicycle: any vehicle powered solely by human power,
upon which any person may ride, having two (2) tandem
wheels, except scooters and similar devices. Legally clas-
sified as vehicles, bicycles can be ridden on all public
roadways in Wyoming. While not legally required, a
properly fitted and Consumer Product Safety Certified
bicycle helmet is highly recommended for protection
against serious head injury or death. A Snell Memorial
Foundation approval will provide assurance of quality
regarding a helmet.

Blind Spot: the area near the right and left rear corners
of the vehicle which cannot be seen through the mirrors.
The driver must turn his/her head to view these areas.

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC): the amount of
alcohol in the bloodstream.

Brakes: device used to stop the vehicle.

Critical Object: any person, vehicle, animal or anything
else that could cause a driver to slow down, speed up
or turn.

Crosswalk: a place where people may legally cross the
street or highway. The crosswalk may or may not be
marked. If there are no markings, a crosswalk is con-
sidered to be where imaginary lines would connect the
sidewalks on each side of the street or highway.

Driving While Under the Influence (DWUI): the
operation of a vehicle by a person who is under the
influence of alcohol or who is under the influence of a
controlled substance.

Emancipated Minor: a person at least 17 years of age,
who is or was married, is in the military service of the
United States, or who has been emancipated by the
district court. Emancipated minors may have this status
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put on their Wyoming licenses by making application to
the department and paying the required fee.

Gap in Traffic: an opening or space between vehicles in
traffic that is large enough for a vehicle to enter safely.

Helmet: protective headgear.

Hydroplaning: when a vehicle's tires ride on a thin film
of water instead of the road.

Immigrant: any person who is not a citizen of the
United States of America.

Intersection: the area where highways or streets join
or cross each other.

Lane: a section of roadway for a single line of vehicles.

Median: a barrier of grass, concrete or other material
separating two roadways, such as the area between the
two roadways on an interstate highway. It is not legal to
ride over, across or on the median.

Merging Traffic: a situation where two moving lanes
of traffic come together, such as an entrance ramp on
an interstate.

Moped: a vehicle equipped with two or three wheels,
foot pedals to allow propulsion by human power, an au-
tomatic transmission and a motor with cylinder capacity
not exceeding 50 cubic centimeters, producing no more
than two-brake horsepower, whose motor is capable of
propelling the vehicle at a maximum speed of no more
than 30 miles per hour on a level road surface.

Motorcycle: a motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for
the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more
than three wheels in contact with the ground but which
may have a sidecar to transport a single passenger. For
the purpose of registration and titling, "motorcycle"
includes motorized bicycles, scooters and recreational
vehicles primarily designed for off-road use and de-
signed to be ridden astride upon a seat or saddle and to
travel on four wheels, but excludes mopeds and off-road
three-wheel recreational vehicles.

Motor Vehicle: every vehicle which is self-propelled by
some power source other than muscular power and used
on public highways for transporting persons or property
or both. This includes motorcycles and mopeds.
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Moving Violation: an act of control or lack of control by
the driver of a motor vehicle while the vehicle is in mo-
tion, that results in a conviction, including a conviction
for driving in violation of the restriction for corrective
lenses and/or outside mirrors.

Multipurpose Vehicle: a vehicle having an identifying
number, having at least four wheels, weighing 300 to
3,000 pounds and having a permanent upright seat at
least 24 inches from the ground. The vehicle must be
registered and plated to be operated on streets and high-
ways, but may NOT be operated on interstate highways
and is subject to slow-moving vehicle requirements.
The holder of any class of driver license may drive a
multipurpose vehicle. Drivers who currently hold a
"motorcycle” class license with an "R" restriction for
an "ATV vehicle only" will not be renewed with this
class and restriction, as an ATV is considered a mul-
tipurpose vehicle and does not require the "M" or "R"
on the license.

No-Zone: an area on either side or directly behind a
heavy vehicle in which another vehicle is not visible to
the driver.

Off-Road Recreational Vehicle: a recreational vehicle
primarily designed for off-road use which is 50 inches
or less in width, has an unladen weight of 900 pounds or
less and is designed to be ridden astride upon a seat or
saddle and to travel on at least three low-pressure tires.

A "low pressure tire" is a pneumatic tire at least 6 inches
in width, designed for use on wheels with a rim diameter
of 12 inches or less and having a manufacturer's recom-
mended operating pressure of 10 pounds per square
inch or less; any unlicensed motorcycle which has an
unladen weight of 600 pounds or less and is designed
to be ridden off road with the operator astride upon a
seat or saddle and travels on two tires; and any multi-
wheeled motorized vehicle not required by law to be
licensed and is designed for cross-country travel on or
over land, sand, ice or other natural terrain and which
has an unladen weight of more than 900 pounds.

Wherever practicable, off-road recreational vehicles
shall only be operated off the main traveled portion of
the roadway. Crossings of main traveled roadways shall
be made at right angles to the roadway or as nearly so as
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practicable, but, in any case, yielding the right-of-way to
all traffic in the main traveled roadway. If the operator
is a minor, or if a minor is a rider, they shall be operated
in accordance with all Wyoming helmet laws and be
operated only by a person who possesses a valid driver
license with a motorcycle endorsement.

Pedestrian Vehicle: any self-propelled conveyance
designed, manufactured and intended for the exclusive
use of persons with a physical disability. In no case shall
a pedestrian vehicle exceed 48 inches in width.

Reinstatement Fee: the fee required to reinstate a
person’s driver license and/or driving privilege before a
suspension or revocation can be lifted and the privilege
to drive restored.

Resident: any person who is gainfully employed or
engages in any trade, profession or occupation within
this state and owns, leases or rents a place of residence
or otherwise lives within Wyoming for the purpose of
employment or remains in the jurisdiction for a period
of 120 days or more; OR any person who is registered
to vote in Wyoming; OR any person who has applied
for public assistance from Wyoming; OR any person
who holds a valid Wyoming resident hunting or fish-
ing license.

Revocation: termination of a person’s privilege to drive.

Roadway: that portion of a street or highway ordinarily
used for driving.

Shoulder: that portion of the road beside the traveled
highway. It may be either hard surfaced or gravel. It
is used by stopped vehicles and helps provide proper
drainage of the highway.

Space Cushion: the space that isolates your vehicle from
other vehicles; a cushion of space ahead, behind and to
the side of your vehicle.

Suspension: the TEMPORARY REMOVAL of a person’s
privilege to drive. The license may be returned after a
specified period of time, and/or after certain require-
ments have been met.
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Total Stopping Distance: the distance a vehicle trav-
els before it comes to a complete stop. It includes the
complete distance traveled while deciding to stop, then
reacting, and finally after brakes are then applied.

Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT):
the state agency responsible for the licensing of drivers
in Wyoming. WYDOT’s address is: 5300 Bishop Blvd.,,
Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340.
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www.dot.state.wy.us

www.aamva.org
www.nhtsa.dot.gov
www.fmcsa.dot.gov
www.ama-cycle.org
www.msf-usa.org
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