The Wyoming Department of Transportation's Aeronautics Commission is comprised of seven (7) members, each appointed by Wyoming's Governor, and receiving Senate consent. Members may serve for a term of six (6) years, for an appointment not to exceed two (2) consecutive terms. 

Each county within a district is represented by these successive appointments. The Commission is required to meet on a quarterly basis.


Bruce McCormack of Cody serves as Chair of the Aeronautics Commission, alongside current Vice Chair, Jerry Blann of Wilson.

The other Commission positions are presently filled by Bill DeVore of Casper, Dr. Sigsbee Duck of Rock Springs, Randy Harrop of Douglas, Steve Maier of Sheridan, and Dean McClain of Torrington.

Announcing the International Aviation Art Contest 2024: "Air Sports for a Peaceful World"

2024-art-contest.jpgThe Wyoming Aeronautics Commission is currently accepting submissions for the 2024 International Aviation Art Contest. Wyoming students, aged 6-17, are invited to participate in the competition themed "Air Sports for a Peaceful World." The contest is sponsored by the National Association of State Aviation Officials to foster interest and encourage youth to pursue aviation, aeronautics engineering, and space.

Submissions for the state contest must be received by Tuesday, January 9, 2024. The top three entries in each age group will be submitted to the national contest in late February. 

Contest submissions, with attached entry forms, may be sent to:
Wyoming Department of Transportation
Aeronautics Commission
5300 Bishop Boulevard
Cheyenne, WY  82009

For more information about the contest, including rules and submission requirements, please see the 2024 Young Artists Brochure.

Contact Information

Kimberly Chapman
Aeronautics Commission Secretary
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY  82009
(307) 777-4015